Book Review: The Blue Castle

Carrie chose as the January selection for her Reading to Know Classics Book Club The Blue Castle by Lucy Maud Montgomery of (Anne of Green Gables fame), which dovetails nicely with her L. M. Montgomery Reading Challenge also held in January. This book is one of the few LMM wrote for adults and the only one set totally outside Prince Edward Island. It was originally published in 1926.

Blue CastleThe Blue Castle opens with a very depressed Valancy Stirling. It’s her 29th birthday, and she has no friends, has never had a boyfriend or anyone even remotely interested in being one, and she is surrounded by a large and eccentric family, including a domineering mother who goes into “fits” of silent treatment over the slightest perceived violation of her wishes. Her actions are hemmed in by what her gossipy clan would say and whether her uncle might cut her out of his will if she displeases him. With no hope of anything ever changing for the rest of her life, no wonder she’s depressed.

She gets just a bit of a respite by reading books primarily about nature by author John Foster (when her mother will let her), but usually she escapes to her blue castle, the place in her daydreams where she’s beautiful and pursued by handsome princes.

This 29th birthday isn’t helped by the fact that it is raining relentlessly, but that at least saves her from the anniversary picnic of her aunt and uncle. She has been having occasional pains in her chest, and she chooses this day to sneak out to a local doctor (not the family-approved one) to see about it. The doctor is called away on a family emergency just after her exam, but he writes her to tell her that she has angina, probably only has a year to live, and should avoid stress and strain. Thus changes everything for Valancy. No longer does she have to worry about being cut out of anyone’s will or following the same dreary, monotonous routine for the rest of her life. She begins saying exactly what she thinks and doing exactly what she wants, to the point that her family thinks she is losing her mind. Then when poor disgraced Cissy Gay, daughter of the town drunk, is dying, Valancy scandalizes her family by going to live with them to be a housekeeper, cook, nurse, and companion to Cissy. Worse, she takes up with that Barney Snaith, whom everyone is convinced has a sordid past.

When Cissy dies, Valancy does not want to return home, so she proposes to Barney Snaith, telling him she only has a year to live. She loves him but does not expect him to love her. He takes her up on her offer, and they move to his island, which reminds Valancy very much of her blue castle.

They spend the next year exploring the island, getting to know one another, and being very happy. The writing here sounds more like the LMM I know and love, with her descriptions of nature and their wanderings and their happiness at home.

Then, when a year is about up….well, I won’t spoil the story for you. 🙂 Let’s just say it takes an unexpected twist.

I had a hard time liking the book at first. The first part was so depressing, and then when Valancy started to assert herself, she went overboard (though that’s not entirely surprising considering how long and severely she was repressed). But somewhere during the time she went to take care of Cissy and then her marriage I started enjoying it more, and I really liked how it ended. I did guess who Barney really was earlier in the book, but his family connections totally surprised me.

There almost seems to be an anti-religious tone in the book, as all the Stirlings are upstanding church members despite their gossip and harshness (even their minister is harsh and judgmental), but Valancy does tell Roaring Able (Cissy’s father) that there are good people in both their churches, and she does find a little church back in the woods whose pastor is simple and sincere and interested in ministering to people. I’d disagree with Barney that their happy life on the island was “what it must be like to be born again,” at least not in the Biblical sense, but he probably meant it along the lines of springtime renewal.

Thanks, Carrie is for choosing this book for the Classics Book Club! I don’t know when I would have come across it otherwise.

Reading to Know - Book Club    L. M. Montgomery Reading Challenge

(This will also be linked to Semicolon‘s Saturday Review of Books.)

This also completes one of my requirements for the  Back to the Classics Challenge hosted by Karen at Books and Chocolate.

classics2014

12 thoughts on “Book Review: The Blue Castle

  1. I enjoyed your review so much, Barbara! I saw Barney’s reflection of what it must mean to be born again, but forgot to mention that in my review. I disagreed with it too! And I did love the little Free Methodist church Valancy went to; its pastor seemed much more of a minister than her family’s pastor, who must have been in ministry as merely a profession. Thanks for your review!

  2. Interesting — Valancy sounds a bit like me at 29 — single and with no visible prospects! This book is sounding a lot to me like something Gene Stratton Porter would have written. I’m better she and LMM might have been contemporaries, at least the “feel” of their books sounds similar. I’m currently reading “Laddie” by GSP and it has much of the over-wrought black-and-white that this one seems to. Thanks for bringing it to my attention — I have not read much LMM.

  3. I read this one a long time ago, and I remember liking it. I certainly like the concept of thinking one has only a short time to live and that “death sentence” being a doorway to freedom.

  4. I think it’s interesting reading your review and everyone’s comments after it. 😀

    I agree with you in that I disagree with Barney’s “born again” statement. As I said in my review, I think there is a lot of unforgiveness in this story and that makes it somewhat hard to swallow. Yet I still like it.

    Also, I do think Montgomery was anti-church. I don’t think she was a Christian, I don’t think that she understood what it meant to be one, and – as a minister’s wife – I’m sure she met the brunt end of people’s tongue’s on more than one occasion which likely spoiled her view of things. All of her descriptions of women in church present them in a negative light – all gossip and no grace. It’s intriguing from a Christian perspective.

    Anyway, I’m glad you read along this month! Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  5. Pingback: What’s On Your Nightstand: January 2014 | Stray Thoughts

  6. I first read this book two years ago, I think, and could hardly slog through the first chapters when Valancy’s relatives were so over-the-top awful. I agree with Carrie that LMM, like so much of today’s books and media, was anti-church. Still, the second half was very engaging.

  7. Pingback: Reading Challenge Updates. | Stray Thoughts

  8. Pingback: Back to the Classics Challenge Wrap-up | Stray Thoughts

  9. Pingback: Books Read in 2014 | Stray Thoughts

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.