What’s On Your Nightstand: January 2014

What's On Your NightstandThe folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the fourth Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read.

Usually I anticipate the Nightstand posts and have them ready, but for some reason this month I completely forgot about it until I saw Nightstand posts listed on several of my friends’ blogs in my Feedly! So I’m going to whip this one together.

It has been a good month for reading!

Since last time I have completed:

Unglued: Making Wise Choices in the Midst of Raw Emotions by Lysa TerKeurst, reviewed here.

Jennifer: An O’Malley Love Story by Dee Henderson, short review here.

Unspoken by Dee Henderson, reviewed here.

The Blue Castle by L. M. Montgomery, reviewed here. for Carrie’s January selection for her Reading to Know Classics Book Club her L. M. Montgomery Reading Challenge.

Lost and Found by Ginny Yttrup, reviewed here.

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book IV: The Interrupted Tale by Maryrose Wood, short review here.

A Study in Scarlet, the first Sherlock Holmes book by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, audiobook, reviewed here.

The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Orczy, audiobook, reviewed here.

A Tale of Two Cities, audiobook, by Charles Dickens for Carrie’s Reading to Know Book Club for December.

Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy by Eric Metaxas was finished months ago but I just reviewed it here.

Two devotional books I read through last year were A Quiet Place: Daily Devotional Readings by Nancy Leigh DeMoss and One Year Christian History by E. Michael and Sharon Rusten, both reviewed just briefly here.

I also listed my top ten books read in 2013 here.

I’m currently reading:

Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire With God, Not Food by Lisa TerKeurst along with a online Bible study using Made to Crave hosted by Proverbs 31 Ministries. I will probably post a general review of the book here when I finish it, but I’m blogging about the individual chapters on my I Corinthians 10:31 blog under the label Made to Crave study.

Walking From East to West: God in the Shadows by Ravi Zacharias

Crowded to Christ by L. E. Maxwell

Ida Scudder: Healing Bodies, Touching Hearts by Janet and Geoff Benge

Next up:

The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins. I’ve never read him before but he was a contemporary of Dickens and all reviews of this  book are high.

Farmer Boy by Laura Ingalls Wilder for my Laura Ingalls Wilder Reading Challenge (more on that below).

Other than that I am not sure, but it will be something from the book challenges I am participating in here and here. Those challenges are really spurring me on!

I invite you to participate in the Laura Ingalls Wilder Reading Challenge which runs through February, where we read books by or about or somehow related to LIW. I’ll have a post up Feb 1. where you can share what you plan to read and check out what others are reading.

Laura Ingalls Wilder Reading Challenge
Happy reading!
9 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: January 2014

  1. It was a good month for you! I am looking forward to reading about Bonhoeffer this year. During this season (taxes) I am having a hard time focusing on my reading, especially Isaiah! I haven’t tried Collins yet either. Interested to know what you think of him. Happy February reading!

  2. Great book selections! I’m reading the Incorrigible Children series – love it! So glad that I saw it mentioned on the Nightstand link-ups.

    The Blue Castle is my favorite Montgomery novel. Unglued and A Tale of Two Cities are both in my current reading pile too.

  3. I’m so glad you had The Blue Castle on your list because I might not have read it myself otherwise. I thought it was so cute.

    I saw your Scarlet Pimpernel review up, but I only scanned it since I haven’t even begun the book yet. 🙂 I’ll come back to read your review once I’m done. I downloaded it for free to my Kindle last weekend so hopefully I’ll start it soon.

    I keep hearing good things about Made to Crave.

  4. So many books! They all look interesting to me. I often get frustrating reading these book posts because there are so many more books I want to read than I have the time to get to … I am already planning to participate in the LIW challenge and have a few ideas up my sleeve — fun!

  5. I am very much looking forward to the Laura Ingalls Wilder reading challenge next month–it’ll be fun to see what everyone ends up reading.

    I haven’t read any Sherlock Holmes since I was an early teen, but a group of friends have had Daniel and I over to watch a couple of episodes of Sherlock, the British TV series, and now I’m curious as to how closely the modern TV plots follow the novels.

  6. A lot of great selections I’ve enjoyed reading over the last year or two. I enjoyed the Scarlet Pimpernel and read the second book in the series, I Will Repay, which I found quite different, yet enjoyable.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

