Back to the Classics Challenge Wrap-up

classics2014Karen at Books and Chocolate hosted the Back to the Classics Challenge this year, where we could choose to read and review classics that fit in certain categories, with drawings for prizes at the end of the year. There are some required categories and some optional categories, and, thankfully, I was able to finish them all. I will link each title back to my review.

Required:

  1. A 20th Century Classic: My Man Jeeves by P. D. Wodehouse
  2. A 19th Century Classic: Bleak House by Charles Dickens
  3. A Classic by a Woman Author: The Blue Castle by L. M. Montgomery
  4. A Classic in Translation  (A book originally written in a different language from your own.) The Brothers Karamazov by Dostoyevsky.
  5. A Classic About War  The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Orczy.
  6. A Classic by an Author Who Is New To You: The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins
Optional Categories:
  1. An American Classic: Farmer Boy by Laura Ingalls Wilder
  2. A Classic Mystery, Suspense or Thriller:  A Study in Scarlet by Arthur Conan Doyle, the first Sherlock Holmes book
  3. A Historical Fiction Classic: I will Repay by Baroness Orzcy, part of The Scarlet Pimpernel series.
  4. A Classic That’s Been Adapted Into a Movie or TV Series: To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.
  5. Extra Fun Category:  Write a Review of the Movie or TV Series adapted from Optional Category #4: To Kill a Mockingbird

Karen asks us to “Please remember to indicate within your post how many entries you have earned for the prize drawing.  You earn one entry for completing the six required categories, an additional entry for completing three of the optional categories; complete all five optional entries, and you receive two additional entries for completing all of the optional categories. The most entries one person can earn is three. ” Since I completed all of the required and optional categories, I have three entries.

I did not grow up reading a lot of classics, so I have purposefully tried to incorporate a few classics into my reading the last few years. This challenge was a fun way to do that. I had pretty much decided not to do it next year, however, just because I had been involved in too many challenges this past year and felt a little constricted and constrained. But Karen changed the format for the Back to the Classics Challenge 2015: this time there are twelve categories of classics but we have the choice of reading from whichever category we want, with a minimum of six required to enter for a $30 Amazon prize, and more entries are earned at different reading levels. So I think perhaps I will join in after all, but I’m going to wait til after Christmas to decide whether to and which classics to read if I do.

2 thoughts on “Back to the Classics Challenge Wrap-up

  1. I started looking at books last night that I might want to add to do this challenge again next year but I won’t decide for sure just yet either. I enjoyed what it helped me accomplish this year. I only did the required 6, probably the same for 2015, but that’s better than none. 🙂

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

