Books Read in 2014

I like to list and look over what I have read for the year, and Sherry at Semicolon, who hosts a weekly Saturday Review of Books where we can link up our book reviews, is setting aside this last Saturday of the year for books lists – what we’ve read this year, favorite books of the year, books we are planning to read next year, etc. I included audiobooks in with the the others because I do consider them “read” even though I “listened,” and for many of them I reread or looked at excerpts from online versions or library or Kindle copies. But all of the audiobooks this year were classics except for one in the “other fiction” category.

I’m just listing the titles read and not including commentary, but I am linking the titles to my reviews.

Non-fiction:

Come, Thou Long Expected Jesus: Experiencing the Peace and Promise of Christmas, essays compiled by Nancy Guthrie, not reviewed yet
Crowded to Christ by L. E. Maxwell
Gospel Meditations for Missions, not reviewed.
Gospel Meditations for the Hurting by Chris Anderson and Joe Tyrpak, not reviewed.
The House Is Quiet, Now What? by Janice Hanna and Kathleen Y’Barbo
How I Know God Answers Prayer by Rosalind Goforth
How to Read Slowly by James W. Sire
Ida Scudder: Healing Bodies, Touching Hearts by Janet and Geoff Benge
Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me: A Memoir of Sorts by Ian Morgan Cron
The Knowledge of the Holy by A. W. Tozer
Loving the Church by John Crotts
Made to Crave Action Plan Participant’s Guide by Lysa TerKeurst and Ski Chilton
Made to CraveSatisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food by Lisa TerKeurst
Mere Christianity by C. S. Lewis
On Stories and Other Essays on Literature by C. S. Lewis
Seeking Allah, Finding Jesus: A Devout Muslim Encounters Christianity by Nabeel Qureshi
Walking From East to West: God in the Shadows by Ravi Zacharias
Walking in the Spirit: A Study Through Galatians 5 by Steve Pettit
Wednesdays Were Pretty Normal: A Boy, Cancer, and God by Michael Kelley
The Weight of Glory and Other Addresses by C. S. Lewis
Why We Are Not Emergent: By Two Guys Who Should Be by Kevin DeYoung and Ted Kluck
Women of the Word by Jen Wilkin

By the end of the year I will also have finished another round through Daily Light on the Daily Path, plus Traveling Toward Sunrise, a daily devotional by Mrs. Charles E. Cowman, and Let Every Heart Prepare Him Room by Nancy Guthrie

Classics:

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
Bleak House by Charles Dickens
The Blue Castle by L. M. Montgomery
The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoyevsky
The Cricket on the Hearth by Charles Dickens
Farmer Boy by Laura Ingalls Wilder
The Gift of the Magi and Other Christmas Stories by O. Henry, Dostoyevsky, Henry Van Dyke, and Leo Tolstoy
The Great Divorce by C. S. Lewis
The Hound of the Baskervilles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
I will Repay by Baroness Orzcy
The Little White Horse by Elizabeth Goudge
The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes, by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
My Man Jeeves by P. D. Wodehouse
Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen (did not review this time, but a review from a previous year is here.)
Number the Stars by Lois Lowry
The Old Curiosity Shop by Charles Dickens
Persuasion by Jane Austen (did not review this time, but a review from a previous year is here.)
The Princess and the Goblin by George MacDonald
The Return of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle
The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Orczy
The Sign of the Four by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
A Study in Scarlet, the first Sherlock Holmes book by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins
The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum

Christian fiction:

Courageous by Randy Alcorn
Dear Mr. Knightley by Katherine Reay
The Girl in the Gatehouse by Julie Klassen
In Perfect Time by Sarah Sundin
Jennifer: An O’Malley Love Story by Dee Henderson
Just Jane: A Novel of Jane Austen’s Life by Nancy Moser
The Last Bride by Beverly Lewis
Lost and Found by Ginny Yttrup
Merry Humbug Christmas by Sandra D. Bricker
Somewhere Safe With Somebody Good by Jan Karon
Undetected by Dee Henderson
Unspoken by Dee Henderson

Other fiction:

The Book of Three by Alexander Lloyd
The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book IV: The Interrupted Tale by Maryrose Wood
The Seamstress: A Memoir of Survival by Sara Tuvel Bernstein

62 books in all (65 if you count the three I’ll complete by the end of the year): 20 audiobooks and 42 made of paper. There were maybe three or so I wasn’t so thrilled with, but overall it was a good reading year. There was a lot less Christian fiction than usual and a lot more nonfiction, due mostly to the reading challenges I participated in this year, especially the TBR challenge. A lot of my TBR books are nonfiction because I tend to gravitate to fiction. I do enjoy nonfiction when I get into it, but I usually have to “make” myself pick it up. Yet my top ten or so books of the year usually are nonfiction. That’s coming up next!

(This will also be linked to Semicolon‘s Saturday Review of Books.)

11 thoughts on “Books Read in 2014

  1. Pingback: Top Books Read in 2014 | Stray Thoughts

  2. I got the Jan Karon book for Christmas, so I’ll be reading it soon.
    I’m glad you enjoyed Ravi Zacharias’ autobiographical book.
    I thought Seekin Allah, Finding Jesus was excellent, too.
    Happy reading and Happy New Year, Barbara.

  3. I was excited to pick up a Mitford novel again as I have read and reread them. The book Unbroken by Hillenbrand has become one of my most recommended at our library. Many patrons are surprised that they love it! You must read it all as the ending was surprising. Then watch the movie.

  4. Wow! That’s a lot of reading! That’s a really impressive list of classics, especially! I find your list encouraging, Barbara–that one day I’ll actually get back to serious reading, too.

  5. Looks like it was a wonderful year Barbara! I didn’t reach my original goal of 50 nor my adjusted goal of 40… That’s ok though. I did enjoy everyone I did read! Hope you have a very Happy New Year!

  6. Wow! That’s a ton of books read. I was good to finish one book this year, but have started on another one, so maybe it’ll be done by next Wednesday.
    I love to read, life just has had me on another path. I will keep your list in mind when looking for a good clean book to read!

  7. I enjoyed this list. Wow you inspire me. I am at 37 books for the year – maybe 38 if I can finish the one I am currently reading. That is a record for me. I hope tor read even more next year! Thanks for the inspiration and the book reviews. Happy New Year to you!

  8. Pingback: My favorite posts of the year | Stray Thoughts

  9. Pingback: What’s On Your Nightstand: December 2014 | Stray Thoughts

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

