Adventures in Elder Care

Eldercare

Seven years ago my husband and I moved his mother 2,000 miles to be near us when she couldn’t live on her own any more. She lived in three separate assisted living facilities, a nursing home, and then came home to live with us about 2 years ago. In the posts below I detail some of that journey and pass along tips and truths that have helped us during this time. I hope you will find something to help you in your journey as well.

Helping Parents As They Age.

12 Things You Should Know About Caring for the Elderly.

Decisions.

Assisted Living and Nursing Homes.

The Introvert in Assisted Living (Ideas for one on one activities)

Caring For a Parent at Home.

Dealing With Caregiver Resentment.

A few more thoughts about caregiver resentment.

A Plea to Caregivers

Ministering To the Elderly and Their Caregivers.

It’s Not for Nothing.

Am I Doing Any Good?

But That’s Not My Spiritual Gift!

Remembering the Loved One Who Has Forgotten You

Bible Verses For Caregivers

Save

Save

21 thoughts on “Adventures in Elder Care

  1. Pingback: Adventures in Elder Care: Helping Parents As They Age | Stray Thoughts

  2. Pingback: Adventures in Elder Care: Decisions | Stray Thoughts

  3. Pingback: Adventures in Elder Care: Caring For a Parent at Home | Stray Thoughts

  4. Pingback: Adventures in Elder Care: Assisted Living and Nursing Homes | Stray Thoughts

  5. Pingback: Dealing With Caregiver Resentment | Stray Thoughts

  6. Pingback: A few more thoughts on caregiver resentment | Stray Thoughts

  7. Pingback: Adventures in Elder Care: A Plea to Caregivers | Stray Thoughts

  8. Pingback: Adventures in Elder Care: Ministering to the Elderly and Their Caregivers | Stray Thoughts

  9. Love your mother-in-law. She was a special friend to me and my elderly parents in Twin. I appreciate your blog’s updates on how she is doing.

  10. I am so interested in your experiences in elder-care. Kudos for taking care of your mother-in-LOVE. That’s what I came to call mine. She lived with us for 12 years before moving to Heaven. Tough yet rich times. Thanks for sharing.
    Karen

  11. Pingback: Battling Resentment in Caregiving | Blessed (but Stressed)

  12. Pingback: Book Review: Every Waking Moment | Stray Thoughts

  13. Pingback: 10th Blogging Anniversary! | Stray Thoughts

  14. Pingback: The Introvert in Assisted Living | Stray Thoughts

  15. Pingback: 12 Things You Should Know About Caring For the Elderly | Stray Thoughts

  16. Pingback: Problems, Blessings, and Dangers of Middle Age | Stray Thoughts

  17. Pingback: It’s not for nothing | Stray Thoughts

  18. Thank you so much. I am going through this same journey, except it is my mom. We brought her to live with us last August. Almost a year ago. She has Alzheimer’s disease and is entering the final stages. Her doctor told me to get rid of the guilt that was oozing off of me, at our last visit. And the care coordinator spent time speaking to me about resentment. It was an amazing revelation. I, too, blog. I, too, am a middle-aged mother of 3 sons who shares her life online. I am blessed to have found you!!!

  19. Pingback: Remembering the loved one who has forgotten you | Stray Thoughts

  20. Pingback: Comforted by the Ways God Uses Us | Stray Thoughts

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.