10th Blogging Anniversary!

IMG_1773

Ten years ago today I published my very first post to begin this blog!

Wow, a lot has changed in 10 years.

If I am calculating correctly, my youngest was in junior high, my middle son had just completed his freshman year in college, and my oldest had just graduated. Now they are all young men, out of school, and working (well, except one got laid off recently but hopefully will find a new job soon).

We’ve added a sweet, beautiful daughter-in-law and the world’s cutest and smartest grandson to the family. After a rough start in the NICU due to arriving 10 1/2 weeks earlier than his due date, he’s doing just great.

We moved my mother-in-law from ID to SC to live near us in assisted living, and just three years ago moved her into our home.

We moved from SC to eastern TN.

My husband and I have enjoyed another decade of marriage and our hair is a little greyer than it used to be. We’ve helped each other through his kidney cancer surgery and detached retina and my heart rhythm problems.

But a lot has remained the same. I wonder sometimes if I should change my blog, with all the talk of “branding,” platforms, and niche in the last few years. But I have always felt comfortable with this hodgepodge of “stray thoughts,” just sharing personal life, amusing or interesting observations, and what God has been teaching me along the way.

Earlier in the year I anticipated this anniversary coming up and thought about doing some kind of big giveaway or planning some kind of hoopla. I forgot about it and just now remembered that today was the day.

So I’ll just quietly observe it without a virtual party. But as an anniversary gift to me, I’d love for you to say hello in the comments! Tell me something about yourself or how you came here.

Thank you for reading. You make this a lot more fun than if I was just talking to myself. πŸ™‚ I treasure the friendships I’ve made along the way.

Save

28 thoughts on “10th Blogging Anniversary!

  1. Hi Barbara! You know me, the person in Spain who loves to read your blog posts–even when I don’t comment. I think the Friday Five (or whatever it’s called) rolls around too fast for me! I’m always amazed a week has gone by. Love your blog, and I like you random subjects. Your book reviews have introduced me to so many new authors and helped me avoid a few, too. Happy 10th Blogaversary! Here’s to many more!

  2. Congratulations on your tenth blogging anniversary, Barbara! I’m glad I found your blog nearly 4 years ago now! I appreciate your sensible, down-to-earth comments and your godly character that shines through. Your Laudable Linkage is a favorite of mine. Thank you for passing on the good articles you have discovered. And thanks for being a friend. Sara

  3. Happy 10th Blogaversary Barbara! I enjoy reading your posts because you introduce me to a lot of different subjects and different books that I otherwise would never have picked up and read.

  4. I cannot remember how I found your blog ~ but it was the first one I signed up for & continue to thoroughly enjoy it. The Laudable Linkage is always a favorite for me. I appreciate also your sound Scriptural stand & the articles from proclaim & Defend. Seeing your little guy growing up is a pleasure ~ he is a cutie…..of course. :0)

  5. I first checked out your blog a couple years ago. I believe I learned about it in a Christmas card from your sweet mother-in-law. She was a special friend to me in ID. I enjoy keeping up with your branch of her family and also your news of her. I loved her birthday picture. I also enjoy your book reviews. We read some of the same books and it is interesting to learn another person’s review. I appreciate your solid and clear biblical stand when the Lord leads you to comment on an issue. I read all your posts, but life’s demands rarely allow me time to comment on blogs. Just wanted you to know you are not “talking to yourself” and your efforts are appreciated. Hugs to your mil for me.

  6. Hi, Barbara! Congratulaions on the big milestone! I always marvel at all of you bloggers that have so much to say.πŸ˜€ I’m quiet in spoken and written word. But, the Lord gifts each of us as He sees fit, so I am thankful that I can learn from all you share. I’ve been with you from the beginning. So glad to call you my friend. Still wish you were in SC!

  7. Congratulations, Barbara! We met through Friday Fave Five, and I always look forward to reading your posts. I’ve always felt that you are kind, sensible and down-to-earth, and that I would enjoying sitting at the kitchen table and having a cup of tea with you:) Really, I think we would have a lot in common and I would love to pick your brain about all the books you write about!

    So happy to have met you through our blogs. Keep on writing!

  8. Happy anniversary Barbara!!!!! I don’t recall how I found your little corner of the web, but I’m sure glad I did! I enjoy all of your blog just as it is! So many posts have been a blessing to me, but your reviews on missionaries and hero’s of the faith have inspired me and blessed me beyond words! Thank you so much for your faithfulness in this ministry the Lord has given you. Blessings to you and your dear family.

  9. Hi, Barbara, happy anniversary with the blog! I met your blog soon after I met you when you moved to our area. Your Laudable Linkage is my favorite as well. I’m constantly amazed at the number of books you read. You’ve put me on to more than a few good books and articles that I might not have found otherwise. Thanks for being a blessing!

  10. 10 years? Happy Blogiversary!! I’ve enjoyed reading your blog over the years and seeing your beautiful family and reading your beautiful words. Congrats on 10 years and here’s to many more!

  11. Congratulations! A lot can and does happen in ten years – and I’m glad I’ve been able to share at least some of those ten years with you through our blogging friendship.

  12. Congratulations, my friend! Ten years is quite an accomplishment. I don’t remember how I found your blog – probably from someone else’s. I have always enjoyed reading your book reviews and all your stray thoughts. I think our hearts are connected because of elder care and caring for our mother and mother in law. Also, the fact that you live in Tennessee, where my heart is! Have a blessed day.

  13. I’ve appreciated your blog many times!! Who would ever have thought that how many years later, we would re-connect, via the internet, from those days on Georgia Creel second floor!! πŸ™‚

  14. Happy Anniversary, Barbara! I’m so glad you’ve continued your blog through the years. We’ve seen so many come and go, and after you read someone for awhile, they become your friend and you don’t want them to go. So yay for your perseverance! You’ve definitely had some major life changes in the past 10 years. Thanks for your example of Christlikeness in all of them. I always enjoy your posts!

  15. Happy Anniversary! Ten years *is* a long time; it’s been almost 8 for me, and it’s hard to imagine life without the blog. I, too, keep hearing all the calls to “brand” and find a niche, but I agree with you — I like a bit of this and a bit of that. It would be difficult to write about the same basic topic day after day! I think I found you through the nightstand link-up, and I’ve always enjoyed your thoughts on books, as well as on various Christian topics over the years. I appreciate your wisdom and your steadiness. Here’s to ten more!

  16. Congrats Barbara! I have enjoyed every post. Not all have been great topics but they need to be discussed. I hope to have some life issues settled and be back to blogging soon. Virtual hugs my friend!

  17. Pingback: Friday’s Fave Five | Stray Thoughts

  18. Congratulations on your anniversary, Barbara! That is quite an event. I think you should keep things just the way they are. You have a nice variety of topics that keeps things fresh and interesting. Your blog has been a blessing to me.

  19. Congratulations on 10 years, Barbara! I think I first came upon your blog through some of the 5 Minutes for Books carnivals. I don’t comment much, but I visit your blog at least once a week.

  20. Congratulations Barbara on keeping up with your blog for ten years. Many bloggers don’t make it that long. I heard about you via Semicolon’s Saturday Book Review. I always appreciate your sane, Christian point of view. Blessings! May you have at least ten more years as a blogger. (Who knows how we’ll be relating to each other at that time?)

  21. Hi Barbara – congratulations! Like many of your other readers, I’ve been here for years, but can’t remember when we met. We share many of the same views but differ on others. It’s nice to see an issue from the other side. I love the book reviews. I’ve picked up a few new reads from your recommendations. I enjoy reading about your family and the interesting things you do.

  22. πŸ™‚ I’m a little late to saying congratulations but CONGRATULATIONS and happy bloggy anniversary to you.

    I’m so glad you haven’t changed the format or tried re-branding. This site is very you, very warm and inviting and full of daily chatter which is such a joy to read. I’m so glad to know you and yours, distantly, as you have greatly encouraged me in my thinking processes and faith.

    Thank you for your faithfulness around here!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

