31 Days of Missionary Stories

I’ve seen that several bloggers are participating in a 31 Days series hosted by Nesting Place. The basic idea is to choose a topic that you write about each day of October. I thought, “Hmm, that sounds interesting…but what in the world would I write about?” Then it hit me this morning: I love to read missionary biographies or stories: when I first started my blog I did a series for a few weeks on different missionary stories or anecdotes, and I have been doing the same in a church ladies’ newsletter for years. What a great opportunity to share some of those here! Some times it will be an overview of a person’s life: some times it will be just one incident or anecdote.

Why missionary stories? Because it increases my faith to see men and women “of like passions as we are” who learn, grow, overcome, and are used by God. I wrote more about reading missionary biographies before, and an excerpt from that is:

We learn history for a number of reasons, among them: to better understand our current times, to appreciate our heritage, to avoid repeating mistakes. There are heroes in our national history who inspire us to a love of country and duty and courage. There are heroes of our spiritual heritage who inspire us in love and dedication to God and to greater faith in remembering that the God they served and loved and Who provided for and used them is the very same God we love and serve today and Who will provide for us and use us. Though times and culture change, human nature at its core doesn’t change much, and God never changes.

This poem, which I first saw in Rosalind Goforth’s book, Climbing, embodies my own thoughts and feelings as well.

Call Back!

If you have gone a little way ahead of me, call back-
It will cheer my heart and help my feet along the stony track;
And if, perchance, Faith’s light is dim, because the oil is low,
Your call will guide my lagging course as wearily I go.

Call back, and tell me that He went with you into the storm;
Call back, and say He kept you when forest’s roots were torn;
That when the heavens thunder and the earthquake shook the hill.
He bore you up and held where the very air was still.

O friend, call back, and tell me for I cannot see your face;
They say it glows with triumph, and your feet bound in the race;
But there are mists between us and my spirit eyes are dim,
And I cannot see the glory, though I long for word of Him.

But if you’ll say He heard you when your prayer was but a cry,
And if you’ll say He saw you through the night’s sin-darkened sky-
If you have gone a little way ahead, O friend, call back-
It will cheer my heart and help my feet along the stony track.

I hope you’ll join me as we look to those who have gone on before us and learn from them.

I’ll be using this post as a directory to list the posts in the series.

Day 1: This post
Day 2: Rosalind Goforth; Answer to a Mother’s Prayer.
Day 3: Adoniram Judson’s Conversion.
Day 4: Adoniram Judson’s biography: To the Golden Shore.
Day 5: John Paton, Missionary to Cannibals.
Day 6: Darlene Deibler Rose: Missionary POW.
Day 7: Gracia Burnham and God’s Grace in Captivity.
Day 8: Isobel Kuhn Learns to Put God First.
Day 9: Isobel Kuhn’s Marriage: Whom God Hath Joined.
Day 10: Don Richardson: How to minister to a culture that values treachery?
Day 11: Amy Carmichael: With All Our Feebleness: Victory Through Pain and Illness.
Day 12: Amy Carmichael Learns to Die to Self.
Day 13: Amy Carmichael and Singleness.
Day 14: Gladys Aylward: The Small Woman With Big Faith.
Day 15: Mary Slessor and the Power of a Woman’s God.
Day 16: Spirit of the Rainforest: A Yanomamo Shaman’s Story
Day 17: Eric Liddell: Olympian and Missionary.
Day 18: Dr. John Dreisbach: Modern Missionary Statesman and Surgeon.
Day 19: The “Cambridge Seven
Day 20: William Carey: “Attempt great things for God. Expect great things from God.
Day 21: Rosalind Goforth, A Woman “Of Like Passions” As We Are.
Day 22: J. O. Fraser: Pianist and Engineer Turned Missionary.
Day 23: Dallas and Kay Washer, Candles in the Darkness.
Day 24: Margaret Stringer: Missionary to Cannibals With a Merry Heart and a Faithful Spirit.
Day 25: Clint and Rita Vernoy: On Ethnocide and Raising Children in the Jungle.
Day 26: Verda Peet: Sometimes I Prefer to Fuss.
Day 27: Jim Elliot’s Journals.
Day 28: Hudson Taylor, Pioneer Missionary.
Day 29: Not Only Preachers Are Called To Be Missionaries.
Day 30: Different ways to support and encourage missionaries.
Day 31: Thoughts on pedestals and missionary biographies with a list of my favorites.

You can see what other people are writing about for this 31 day challenge here: there are nine different categories.

(Photo courtesy of MorgueFile)

53 thoughts on “31 Days of Missionary Stories

  1. I do admire missionaries! I pray for God to use me but then under my breath (you know what I mean?) I hope I am not called to be one… But if I am called out of this comfort zone I will have to submit to the Lord’s will! Looking forward to reading more about Missionaries!

  2. I am looking forward to reading this series. I think it is a great way to encourage our faith and to learn about our missionaries. I will be letting my small group know about this series.

  3. Pingback: 31 Days of Missionary Stories: Answer to a Mother’s Prayer | Stray Thoughts

  4. Pingback: 31 Days of Missionary Stories: Adoniram Judson’s Conversion | Stray Thoughts

  5. Pingback: 31 Days of Missionary Stories: Adoniram Judson, America’s First Missionary | Stray Thoughts

  6. Pingback: 31 Days of Missionary Stories: John Paton, Missionary to Cannibals | Stray Thoughts

  7. Pingback: 31 Days of Missionary Stories: Darlene Deibler Rose, Missionary POW | Stray Thoughts

  8. Pingback: 31 Days of Missionary Stories: Gracia Burham and God’s Grace in Captivity | Stray Thoughts

  9. Pingback: 31 Days of Missionary Stories: Isobel Kuhn Learns to Put God First | Stray Thoughts

  10. Pingback: 31 Days of Missionary Stories: Whom God Has Joined | Stray Thoughts

  11. Pingback: Friday’s Fave Five | Stray Thoughts

  12. Pingback: 31 Days of Missionary Stories: How to minister to a culture that values treachery? | Stray Thoughts

  13. Pingback: 31 Days of Missionary Stories: With All Our Feebleness | Stray Thoughts

  14. Pingback: Stray Thoughts

  15. Pingback: 31 Days of Missionary Stories: Amy Carmichael Learns to Die to Self | Stray Thoughts

  16. Pingback: 31 Days of Missionary Stories: Amy Carmichael and Singleness | Stray Thoughts

  17. Pingback: 31 Days of Missionary Stories: Gladys Aylward: The Small Woman With Big Faith | Stray Thoughts

  18. Pingback: 31 Days of Missionary Stories: Mary Slessor and the Power of a Woman’s God | Stray Thoughts

  19. Pingback: 31 Days of Missionary Stories: Spirit of the Rainforest: A Yanomamo Shaman’s Story | Stray Thoughts

  20. Pingback: 31 Days of Missionary Stories: Eric Liddell: Olympian and Missionary | Stray Thoughts

  21. Pingback: 31 Days of Missionary Stories: Dr. John Dreisbach, Modern Missionary Statesman and Surgeon | Stray Thoughts

  22. Pingback: 31 Days of Missionary Stories: The Cambridge Seven | Stray Thoughts

  23. Pingback: 31 Days of Missionary Stories: William Carey: “Attempt great things for God. Expect great things from God.” | Stray Thoughts

  24. Pingback: What’s On Your Nightstand: October 2013 | Stray Thoughts

  25. Pingback: 31 Days of Missionary Stories: Rosalind Goforth, a Woman “of Like Passions” As We Are | Stray Thoughts

  26. Pingback: Page not found | Stray Thoughts

  27. Pingback: 31 Days of Missionary Stories: J. O. Fraser: Pianist and Engineer Turned Missionary | Stray Thoughts

  28. Pingback: 31 Days of Missionary Stories: Dallas and Kay Washer, Candles in the Darkness | Stray Thoughts

  29. Pingback: 31 Days of Missionary Stories: Margaret Stringer: A Merry Heart and a Faithful Spirit | Stray Thoughts

  30. Pingback: 31 Days of Missionary Stories: Clint and Rita Vernoy: On Ethnocide and Raising Children in the Jungle | Stray Thoughts

  31. Pingback: 31 Days of Missionary Stories: Verda Peet: Sometimes I Prefer to Fuss | Stray Thoughts

  32. Pingback: 31 Days of Missionary Stories: Jim Elliot’s Journals | Stray Thoughts

  33. Pingback: 31 Days of Missionary Stories: Hudson Taylor, Pioneer Missionary | Stray Thoughts

  34. Pingback: 31 Days of Missionary Stories: Not Just Preachers Are Called to be Missionaries | Stray Thoughts

  35. Pingback: 31 Days of Missionary Stories: Supporters Back Home | Stray Thoughts

  36. Pingback: 31 Days of Missionary Stories: Pedestals? | Stray Thoughts

  37. Pingback: New lyrics to “So Send I You” | Stray Thoughts

  38. Pingback: Philippines Relief | Stray Thoughts

  39. Pingback: Book Review: Granny Brand | Stray Thoughts

  40. Pingback: A look back at 2013 | Stray Thoughts

  41. Pingback: Book Review: Ida Scudder: Healing Bodies, Touching Hearts | Stray Thoughts

  42. Pingback: Coming Soon: 31 Days of Inspirational Biography | Stray Thoughts

  43. Pingback: 31 Days of Inspirational Biography: A Short List of Several | Stray Thoughts

  44. Pingback: Elisabeth Elliot in heaven | Stray Thoughts

  45. Pingback: 31 Days With Elisabeth Elliot | Stray Thoughts

  46. Pingback: Our Church Ladies’ Booklet | Stray Thoughts

  47. Pingback: Laudable Linkage | Stray Thoughts

  48. This is a great idea, and I also love reading biographies of missionaries. I was just writing up my review of Through Gates of Splendor by Elisabeth Elliot and found this series of articles. Your list includes some missionaries I’ve read and written about, some that I still plan to, and yet others that I’m not familiar with, so I look forward to reading your articles. Feel free to visit my site, and check out my missionary story reviews by searching for Missions under the Category drop-down menu!

  49. Pingback: Five Who Risked It All for the Gospel | I'm All Booked

  50. Pingback: More Stray Thoughts… | Stray Thoughts

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.