A look back at 2013

shutterstock_165373523-300x215

Proverbs 27:1 says, “Boast not thyself of to morrow; for thou knowest not what a day may bring forth,” and that is certainly true of a year full of days as well. We had no idea at the beginning of this year that we’d be facing my husband’s kidney cancer and surgery, his retinal detachment and surgery, and subsequent cataract surgery or his mom’s hospitalization or her move to a nursing home. We had been thinking about bringing his mom to our home but had not decided on that until later in the year. And we cherished hopes of news that we’d be becoming grandparents but didn’t know when that time might come: we learned a few weeks ago that Jason and Mittu are expecting their first child this summer. (I’ve been sitting on that news and it has been so hard to wait to announce it! But exciting, too!) We enjoyed a visit from my family that we hadn’t known was coming at the beginning of the year as well as visits from a few out-of-town friends.

At the end of the year I like to take a quick look back through the year’s blog posts, aside from the book reviews and weekly “Fave Fives” (which I love), to remind myself of what the Lord’s been teaching me through the year, to trace back through some of my thinking, and even to remember a few fun times. Here are some of my favorite posts of the year:

January:

Thoughts for the New Year.

Devotional tips, a repost from an earlier year. but it helps to go over these things from time to time.

When the Living Word Comforted With the Written Word.

February:

What did you read as a kid? It was fun thinking back through some of my childhood favorites.

To celebrate or not to celebrate…Valentine’s Day. 🙂

March:

Themes of My Life.

God permits what He hates to accomplish what He loves.”

Encouraging ourselves in the Lord. Another repost and reminder to myself.

April:

Thoughts About God’s Wrath.

Time Management.

What God Ordains Is Always Good

May:

Myths and Maxims of Ministry.

June:

Spurgeon on Criticism.

Spiritual Snobbery.

July:

Thoughts on Being an Introvert.

August:

Solitude vs. Community.

To look back or not to look back.

September:

Tension and Balance.

Wanting Things to Be Perfect.

We follow our focus.

October:

31 Days of Missionary Stories.

November:

Tense anticipation. Spiritual lessons learned from my mother-in-law’s physical therapy.

Thanksgiving Bible Study.

Pedestals? A list of missionary biographies I’ve read and recommend and some tips for reading missionary biographies.

December:

Christmas Grief.

My Top Ten Books Read in 2013.

Expectations. 😀

I just got my year-in-review summary from WordPress, and according to that my most-viewed post this year is one from a couple of years ago, Coping when your husband is away. I still get e-mails about that one. As much as I hated that my husband had to travel so much over the years, I’m so thankful God has used that experience to minister to others.

As we put up new calendars tomorrow, we’re looking forward to being grandparents for the first time this summer, and I am sure that will be one of the major focuses of the year. Jim will probably have to have one more eye surgery: the doctors recently told him that the retina that had surgery is developing a film over the retina, so the film will likely have to be removed at some point. I need to sit down and plot out some goals for the year and reevaluate some priorities and pray for wisdom and direction. But overall we’re back where we started – not knowing what a day, or a year, will bring forth. Yet God knows what’s ahead and has promised us strength, grace, and above all His beloved presence for all our days ahead.

4 thoughts on “A look back at 2013

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

