Friday’s Fave Five

friday fave five spring

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

It’s been a great week in these parts! Here’s why:

1. My birthday. My husband made his famous Grilled Chicken Teriyaki, everyone contributed to the rest of the meal and set-up/clean up, and Mittu made the GF Texas Sheet Cake. Yummy! Plus they took me to Cheddar’s the night before! It wasn’t our best experience at this restaurant, but the food was great. And I loved everyone’s thoughtful cards and gifts.

IMG_0008(2)

2. The rest of our stay-cation. I wrote about it more here, but it was a nice blend of activities and relaxation. I enjoyed the time with the family so much. My oldest son headed back to RI Monday – that seems so long ago already! I think this is the first time I have adopted the mentality that I’m on vacation, too. Usually I don’t feel that way because I still have my regular tasks to do. But really, the housework was done before my son came, and besides dealing with meals and dishes, which others helped with, and a bit of laundry and occasional crumb sweep-up, I was pretty much “off,” too. I enjoyed a lot of reading and resting when we weren’t doing other things.

3. 4 days off from cooking. Between my birthday, getting meals out, and other people cooking during the ten days or so everyone was here, I think I had about 4 days in a row that I didn’t cook. It was nice to have such a break!  And that helped me feel a little more like I was on vacation, too.

4. Learning that the print could be enlarged on my phone. I was lamenting that I couldn’t make out much on my phone without whipping out my glasses, and my husband told me I could enlarge the text. On the iPhone you go to Settings, click General, click Accessibility, then Larger Text, and you can manage how big you want it. That has helped a lot!!!

5. The car starting – after it didn’t. I had just loaded a huge supply of groceries into the back of the van and got in to start the car, and it just clicked. I tried several times and the  tried to call and text Jim. I was just getting ready to call my youngest son, Jesse, to come and rescue the groceries and me when I decided to try one more time. It started rather weakly, and I gave it a little gas, and it did fine. Jim took it to have the battery tested when he got home (it started fine for him!), and found that was the problem. It had a two-year warranty, and we’d had it four years, so it was about time to replace it. It was a relief to know it was fixed and not fear to drive it in case it wouldn’t start again. And though I was distressed (not to mentioned drenched in sweat in a hot car in August), it relatively was short-lived.

That’s my week. How was yours?

Save

Save

11 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Happy, happy birthday! The food sounds delicious, and I fully understand the treat it is to have a few days off from cooking 🙂

  2. Happy Birthday! What nice photo of you. I’m glad you’ve been able to enjoy your stay-cation. Good news about the car starting. Sitting in a hot car with groceries doesn’t sound like much fun! Have a great day.

  3. I’ll add to the chorus of happy birthdays – Happy Birthday! It sounds like you had a wonderful week with family there.

    Off topic, Timothy is getting so big – he looks very much the little boy, not a toddler at all anymore.

  4. Happy Birthday to you! I’m glad you actually felt like you were on vacation! It sounds like you had a great time with your family, especially your son.

  5. Whenever I have car trouble,I always pray it’s the battery because that is usually the easiest and cheapest fix!

    Happy birthday to you. I hope you enjoyed your cake because Texas Sheet cake is my ultimate favorite. I haven’t tried the GF version yet.

    Your grandson has grown so much! What a cutie!

  6. Happy Belated Birthday!! Glad you had such a good time!

    We had the same experience with our car battery last week – I was supposed to be heading to a hair appointment and it was dead as a doornail. Fortunately my daughter was home and I took her car.

  7. Happy birthday!!!! love the pic of you amd your gramdson..he is a cutie!! I love that the Lord watched out for you regarding your car and it’s restart….a real blessing for sure!!

    how awesome to have nights off from cooking, i had a couple of those last week too!!

    have a wonderful weekend, Barbara.

  8. Happy birthday ! Your little grandson has become a big boy ! It’s always nice not to cook. Since a year I don’t cook anymore, I put things together which are heated up in the microwave (vegetables,, pasta) etc. It works very well for two, when we are more I have to cook otherwise it becomes to expensive.

  9. Happy birthday! I love to cook but breaks like that are sure nice too! Glad that the battery had that little extra juice in it to get that car started for you.

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.