The Laura Ingalls Wilder Reading Challenge 2016

Welcome to the fourth annual Laura Ingalls Wilder Reading Challenge! We hold it in February because her birthday  (February 7, 1867) and the day of her death (February 10, 1957) both occurred in February, so this seemed a fitting time to commemorate her.

Many of us grew up reading the Little House books. I don’t know if there has ever been a time when there wasn’t interest in the Little House series since it first came out. They are enjoyable as children’s books, but they are enjoyable for adults as well. It’s fascinating to explore real pioneer roots and heartening to read of the family relationships and values.

For the reading challenge in February, you can read anything by, about, or relating to Laura. You can read alone or with your children or a friend. You can read just one book or several throughout the month — whatever works with your schedule. If you’d like to prepare some food or crafts somehow relating to Laura or her books, that would be really neat too.

If you’d like to read something other than the Little House books, I’ve listed a few others under Books Related to Laura Ingalls Wilder, but that list is by no means exhaustive.

Let us know in the comments whether you’ll be participating and what you think you’d like to read this month. That way we can peek in on each other through the month and see how it’s going (that’s half the fun of a reading challenge). On Feb. 29, I’ll have another post where you can share with us links to your posts or let us know what you read for the month. Of course if you want to post through the month as you read, that would be great. You don’t have to have a blog to participate: you can just leave your impressions in the comments if you like. And I just may have a prize at the end of the month for one participant. 🙂

My own plans are to read Little Town on the Prairie by Laura and Pioneer Girl: The Annotated Autobiography by Laura Ingalls Wilder and Pamela Smith Hill.

I’m looking forward to reading everyone’s plans and impressions! Feel free to grab the button for the challenge to use in your post:

Laura Ingalls Wilder Reading Challenge

14 thoughts on “The Laura Ingalls Wilder Reading Challenge 2016

  1. I will be glad to have my Classic Club Challenge done so that I can have time to reread some of my favorites like the Little House books! Hope you have an enjoyable month!

  2. Ok…Im late joining…but count me in….I love the Little House Books. I plan to start at the beginning and work my way through. Great Challenge
    Phoebe x

  3. Pingback: Just a reminder about the Laura Ingalls Wilder Reading Challenge | Stray Thoughts

  4. I didn’t know what books I was going to read when I signed up but here they are – “On The Way Home” and “A Little House Traveler” both by Laura Ingalls Wilder. I began “Pioneer Girl” but it is so long and so much info that I abandoned it in favor of other books. If I have time, I’m also going to read “The Long Winter”

  5. I loved Laura’s books when I was a child, and read her series more than once to our boys as they were growing up. I read a short picture book edition to our grandchildren last week, and hope to read “Little House in the Big Woods” to them — and hear them read parts of it, too — in the next little while.

  6. I’m definitely interested in your challenge! I’ve had one of Laura’s books on my TBR list for a while. So… I’m going to read “On the Way Home” for the challenge. This should be fun!

  7. Pingback: What’s On Your Nightstand: February 2016 | Stray Thoughts

  8. Pingback: Laura Ingalls Wilder Reading Challenge 2016 Wrap-Up | Stray Thoughts

  9. Pingback: The Laura Ingalls Wilder Reading Challenge Wrap-up 2017 | Stray Thoughts

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.