The Laura Ingalls Wilder Reading Challenge Wrap-up 2017

It’s the last day of February and so it is time to wrap up our Laura Ingalls Wilder Reading Challenge. If you’ve read anything by, about, or related to Laura this month, please share it with us in the comments. You can share a link back to your book reviews, or if you’ve written a wrap-up post, you can link back to that. If you don’t have a blog, just share in the comments what you read and your thoughts about it. We’d also love to hear if you’ve done any “Little House” related activities.

I like to have some sort of drawing to offer a prize concluding the challenge, so I am offering one winner the choice of:

The Little House Cookbook compiled by Barbara M. Walker

OR

Laura’s Album: A Remembrance Scrapbook of Laura Ingalls Wilder by William Anderson

If neither of those suits you, I can substitute a similarly-priced Laura book of your choice. To be eligible, leave a comment on this post by next Tuesday (March 7) telling us what you read for this challenge. I’ll choose a name through random.org. a week from today to give everyone time to get their last books and posts finished.

I’m afraid I can’t send the books outside of the USA due to shipping costs, but if you live outside of the US, I could send an equivalent Amazon gift certificate if you’re able to use it where you are.

Personally, I read and reviewed These Happy Golden Years, covering her first teaching experiences and courtship with Almanzo, and The Laura Ingalls Wilder Country Cookbook, which includes recipes from the scrapbook cookbook she assembled as an adult as well as photos of her Rocky Ridge home and interesting facts about her life. I also celebrated her 150th birthday with fun facts, quotes, and links related to her as well as Apple Upside Down Cake made from her cookbook

Thanks for participating! I hope you enjoyed your time “on the prairie” this month. It always leaves me with renewed admiration for our forebears and renewed thankfulness that I live in the times I do.

Update: The drawing is completed: the winner is Laura! Congratulations!

Save

Save

9 thoughts on “The Laura Ingalls Wilder Reading Challenge Wrap-up 2017

  1. Hi Barbara! Iin preparation for a historical presentation I gave this past Saturday celebrating Laura Ingalls Wilder’s 150th birthday I had reread “On The Banks Of Plum Creek” and intensely focused on two of the chapters~ “Town Party” and “Country Party” and brought them to life. Here are the links:
    http://www.decortoadore.net/2017/02/country-party-happy-150th-birthday.html
    http://www.decortoadore.net/2017/02/a-town-party-happy-150th-birthday-laura.html
    http://www.decortoadore.net/2017/02/sunbonnets-and-smiles.html

    Can’t wait to read all the reviews!

  2. I share your admiration for the Ingalls family and others who lived during that time. They put us to shame in many ways! I read The Long Winter: http://girlsinwhitedressesblog.com/2017/02/28/the-long-winter-by-laura-ingalls-wilder-review/ Re. your comment on Mary — that was interesting, to hear that she did struggle with wrong feelings at times. If I’d read that, I had forgotten. Thanks for hosting this each year. I look forward to it!

  3. I missed not joining in this year. I’ll be sure to join next year if you still host. I imagine her apple upside down cake was delicious!

  4. Dear Barbara,

    Thank you so much for your Laura Ingalls Wilder Reading Challenge! I wanted to let you know you inspired me to present a challenge to my 6th grade reading students in a Christian school.

    I presented my 6th graders as well as the 5th graders a challenge to read a book by or about Laura Ingalls Wilder in the month of February. I made a poster with photos of Laura from three different ages and above the heading “READING CHALLENGE” I placed a copy of her autograph. The students could sign up on the poster with the name of their book, the author’s name, the number of pages and date completed. One of my slower readers recorded on the chart that he had finished FARMER BOY on February 8. I asked him about it, and it turns out he had to attend his brother’s wrestling tournament that previous weekend, and needing something to do, he read FARMER BOY (384 pages). I was delighted to see him accomplish such a goal so quickly! I encouraged his classmates to give him a round of applause at meeting that challenge so well.

    And then, since we all like food, I also announced a LAURA INGALLS WILDER FOOD FESTIVAL which we enjoyed on the last Friday of February. We started off our meal with a prayer and by singing “My Country, ‘Tis of Thee” which was written in 1832 and so probably known and sung by Laura. The students contributed food that Laura may have eaten as a pioneer child, OR cooked as a farmer’s wife later in life. The most interesting item was rabbit soup (delicious!!) and venison sticks. The most prolific items were starches: many pans of cornbread and biscuits!

    In God’s providence, this year marked the 150th anniversary of Laura’s birth (February 7, 1867), so on February 7 I brought in muffins for the students to celebrate her special day.

    Thank you for the years that you have hosted this challenge; I was so pleased to present your challenge to my students.

    Blessings,
    Sara

  5. Pingback: My First Little House Books « Bekahcubed

  6. Pingback: The Laura Ingalls Wilder Reading Challenge Winner | Stray Thoughts

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

