Giving out of our poverty

We’ve probably all experienced this: someone needs time, attention, affection, ministry, or something else from us right when we feel we have nothing left, yet we don’t feel we can refuse.

I’m not talking about a people-pleaser who is drowning in obligations because she doesn’t want to disappoint anyone. We can’t say yes to everything. We all have legitimate limitations, some more than others due to physical conditions or other obligations.

But sometimes you’re a mom with three sick children, and you can’t stop giving them what they need. Or you’re looking for a few minutes of quiet respite after a busy day, when your poor husband, who is supposed to come first and has been sadly lacking in the attention department, needs you. Or you’ve been pouring into a work or ministry project, and the other person on the project falls ill or forgets or just doesn’t do their part. Or you’ve prayed about something someone requested of you, and you have every reason to say no, but you just can’t shake the feeling you’re supposed to say yes.

Recently when I was in one of these situations, God did give me grace to say yes and blessed my efforts. And as I thought over the whole situation, the Macedonians came to mind. What Macedonians? The ones in 2 Corinthians 8. Paul had been raising money to help the believers in Jerusalem. The Macedonians, though in “extreme poverty . . . overflowed in a wealth of generosity on their part” (verse 2). They gave not only “according to their means,” but “beyond their means.” They didn’t have to be coerced; in fact, they were “begging us earnestly for the favor of taking part in the relief of the saints” (verse 4). They gave with abundant joy (verse 2). And, perhaps the secret to it all, they “gave themselves first to the Lord and then by the will of God to us” (verse 5).

Paul comes back to the Macedonians in 2 Corinthians 9, pointing out that Christians are to give, “not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver” (verse 7). He reminds that “whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows bountifully will also reap bountifully” (verse 6). He shares that “the ministry of this service is not only supplying the needs of the saints but is also overflowing in many thanksgivings to God.” Their service not only helps meet others’ needs, but it brings glory and thanksgiving to God as they recognize that He’s the one who supplied through His saints. And Paul encourages that:

God is able to make all grace abound to you, so that having all sufficiency in all things at all times, you may abound in every good work. As it is written, “He has distributed freely, he has given to the poor; his righteousness endures forever.” He who supplies seed to the sower and bread for food will supply and multiply your seed for sowing and increase the harvest of your righteousness. You will be enriched in every way to be generous in every way, which through us will produce thanksgiving to God (verses 8-11).

Though Paul is talking about financial giving, I have found the principles to apply in other types of giving as well. I think of the poor widow of Zarephath who was about to make the last meal for herself and her son and then prepare to die. Just at that point, the prophet asked her for food. She could have said, “Are you crazy?” But she did as the prophet asked, and “The jar of flour was not spent, neither did the jug of oil become empty, according to the word of the Lord that he spoke by Elijah” (1 Kings 17: 16). I remember a preacher sharing an experience when he got into a taxi after an exhausting stretch of traveling and preaching. He just wanted to enjoy the quiet and rest. But the driver wanted to chat, and the preacher was able to listen and then share truth from God’s Word. I think of the apostle Paul, who said at one point, “We were so utterly burdened beyond our strength that we despaired of life itself. Indeed, we felt that we had received the sentence of death.” But, he said, “that was to make us rely not on ourselves but on God who raises the dead. He delivered us from such a deadly peril, and he will deliver us. On him we have set our hope that he will deliver us again” (2 Corinthians 1:8-10).

There are times God wants us to say “No.” There are times when we need to step back, perhaps to let another lead the way, perhaps to rest and recuperate. But when God calls us to do something, even when we feel depleted, we can lean on Him for grace and provision to give to others.

(Sharing with Inspire Me Monday, Literary Musing Monday, Tell His Story, Let’s Have Coffee, Wise Woman Titus 2 Link-up, Woman to Woman Word-filled Wednesday, Faith on Fire, Grace and Truth)

16 thoughts on “Giving out of our poverty

  1. Barbara, I’d just like to let you know that I liked it much better when I could go to your blog and immediately read the entire article without having to hit the button that says Read More. I wish that you would change back to what you did previously. I enjoy your blog very much. Thank you and have a good day.

    • I prefer reading blog posts without having to click through, too. But I decided to try just posting the intro for a while because I found some of my blog posts stolen, copied, and posted as someone else’s. When I was researching what to do about it, one article said that adjusting our settings so that only the intro shows up might cut down on stolen content. Evidently there are bots or algorithms called “scrapers” that look for blog posts on RSS feeds to copy. Of course, everyone has the ability to copy and paste anything on the web. But these scrapers seem to do so on feeds specifically for the purpose of reposting other bloggers’ content as their own.

      I’m still researching how to handle this and whether taking this measure is all that helpful. I think it is a nuisance, too, to have to click through to read a whole article. So I will probably change it back in a short while, and then see if the problem continues.

      Thanks so much for your kind comments!

  2. Such precious thoughts here today, Barbara. Oh, how He keeps speaking to me more about that word “sufficient” even though it was my word for last year. My word this year is compassion, and I see both of those words in what you have written here. It is HIS sufficiency, when we first give ourselves to Him, that will cause true compassion to be shared. Thank you so much for the encouragement you have brought me today!

  3. This is such a well-written post, Barbara. Thank you for sharing these thoughts here because it helps me with something I’ve been struggling with a bit of late. I appreciate your writing so much.

  4. Such wonderful encouragement to say “yes”! I don’t usually have trouble saying yes, I usually have trouble saying no. I want to do everything, but then I do wind up depleted. Balance is the key and balance is my word for the year in 2019. God’s grace does sustain us.

  5. Learning to say ‘no’ can be very liberating. There was a time i just couldn’t do it but I’ve gotten better. 🙂 Giving sacrificially of our time and energies can be a blessing. Thanks for this post.

  6. This is a great post! I think it’s true, there are times when we are called to give even when we don’t have much money/ time/ energy etc. I think of the times when Jesus was tired but the crowd were there so he taught them and ministered to them. God will always give us what we need if it is what he is calling us to.

  7. What an encouraging post today. There are times when I need to better learn to say no..but, more often than not, I can use “my need to say no” as an excuse. Daily I need His wisdom, that’s for sure.

  8. Excellent thoughts here. As I read, I thought of various times over the years where I’ve felt like I was utterly depleted, yet I found myself “enriched in every way to be generous in every way.” I can only attribute that to God.

  9. Oh, it’s so hard for me to know where to draw the line. Thanks for sharing this wisdom, Barbara. Even today I had to make a decision between going to an Easter service tomorrow night with my daughter and her husband, or go to dinner with a friend who recently lost her husband. Both are good things to do, but I can only do one. My own poverty level has seemed so deep lately that I often don’t want to take ANY of the options. 😦 But the Lord provided guidance in that situation and I know he will continue to lay out the paths before me. Hope you and your family have a wonderful Easter.

  10. Wise words here. May we know the difference between when we need to say no, and when we need to say yes and rely on God who will provide for us. I know through him we can still give when we feel depleted.

  11. Pingback: Strong Women | Stray Thoughts

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.