Laura Ingalls Wilder Reading Challenge 2018 Sign-up

It’s time for the Laura Ingalls Wilder reading Challenge for 2018! The basic idea is to read anything by, about, or relating to Laura Ingalls Wilder during February, the month of her birth and death. I have an extensive book list here if you’d like some ideas beyond the Little House series, but if course the Little House series is delightful to read or reread.

In the comments below let us know what you’re planning to read. On Feb. 28 I’ll have a wrap-up post where you can tell us how you did and what you thought, either in the comments or with a link back to your posts. You don’t have to have a blog to participate, but if you do I’d appreciate your linking back here.

Sometimes participants have done projects or made recipes from the series as well. If you do so, please do share with us! Annette at Little House Companion has some activities and other resources.

I like to have some sort of drawing to offer a prize concluding the challenge, and I decided to once again offer one winner the choice of:

The Little House Cookbook compiled by Barbara M. Walker

OR

Laura’s Album: A Remembrance Scrapbook of Laura Ingalls Wilder by William Anderson

If neither of those suits you, I can substitute a similarly-priced Laura book of your choice. To be eligible, leave a comment on the wrap-up post at the end of the month telling us what you read for this challenge. I’ll choose a name through random.org. a week from then to give everyone time to get their last books and posts finished.

This year I am planning to read:

  • The First Four Years, the last in the Little House series
  • Death On the Prairie by Kathleen Ernst, a modern mystery set around some of the places Laura lived.
  • Little Blog on the Prairie by Cathleen Davitt Bell. I had not heard of this, but it happened to catch my eye while I was in the library. It’s about a modern family with problems going to a “Camp Frontier.”
  • Last year I bought a set of My First Little House Books, after reading Rebekah’s wonderful review. I haven’t even opened them yet, but I want to look through them and hopefully see if Timothy might sit still long enough to look at one or two.

How about you? Will you be joining us this year? What will you be reading?

(Sharing with Literary Musing Monday)

16 thoughts on “Laura Ingalls Wilder Reading Challenge 2018 Sign-up

  1. When I read over what you are planning to read this month during the challenge I feel like a slouch. 🙂 I have chosen to read Caroline: Little House revisited. If I finish it in a timely fashion, perhaps I check out something else.

  2. We have several of the My First Little House books from when the girls were little. They’re ones that I’ve kept; they’re just so cute! Hmmmm, there is not a lot of Laura I haven’t read yet. I need to look over your list and see if there’s something I could read, because I do love her. Thanks for hosting this each year.

  3. I will re-read These Happy Golden Years as the official read. Perhaps others, but am very overwhelmed with books – an library clerk.

    • One of the many things I love about Laura is how polite, how civil, how gracious she and her entire family were. I read other books, and wish they were Laura books. If I am really sad, that is all I read. I love Laura!

  4. Pingback: We love Laura « Bekahcubed

  5. I’m looking forward to reading Little House in the Big Woods with Tirzah Mae (along with whatever “My Little House Books” we can find at the library over the course of the month – our last trip was not very fruitful.) I’ve also checked out some juvenile biographies of Laura, but I’m not sure whether I’ll be able to get to them or not. I wrote up our intentions in my post We Love Laura.

  6. I read “Pioneer Girl” which was Laura Ingalls Wilder’s original manuscript for her novels (and from which Rose, questionably, sculled material for some of her novels). I have a collection called “Little House in the Ozarks: A Laura Ingalls Wilder Sampler: The Rediscovered Writings” which is a collection of her works (she published pieces in magazines and such) before the big works. I am planning to read that this year as part of my plan to finish off all the books of my own that I haven’t read. As others mention books I might add to my list as well. The cookbook sounds lovely. I grew up using the child’s Little House Sewing Book (as distinct from the less interesting, newer craft book; I need to get my hands on an old copy).

  7. This sounds like such a fun reading challenge. I’m definitely going to participate! I got two books about Laura Ingalls Wilder for Christmas and I haven’t read either one yet. This reading challenge seems like the perfect time to read them. The books I’m going to read are Prairie Fires by Caroline Fraser and Pioneer Girl Perspectives by Nancy Tystad Koupal and William Anderson.

  8. Pingback: Snapshot: Little Boy Reading « Bekahcubed

  9. Pingback: What I Read in February – My Blog

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.