What’s On Your Nightstand: June 2017

What's On Your Nightstand

The folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the last Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read.

It’s nearly the end of June (already!), so it’s time to summarize this month’s reading.

Since last time I have completed:

The Sweetest Thing by Elizabeth Musser, reviewed here. Two girls with different personalities, lifestyles, families, economic situations, and religious persuasions become closest friends and help each other through the trials in their lives. Very good,

Though Waters Roar by Lynn Austin, reviewed here. A girl lands in jail for breaking the Prohibition laws her grandmother fought for and reflects on the heritage of strong women in her family and their causes, wondering what her part in it all is. Very good.

Grow Old With Me by Melinda Evaul, reviewed here. A middle-aged bed and breakfast owner with looming physical issues meets a middle-aged man horribly disfigured from a fire. Good.

No Little Women: Equipping All Women in the Household of God by Aimee Byrd, on the need for women to grow in discernment and knowledge of God, reviewed here. Good.

I’m currently reading:

Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes. Almost done!

Fierce Convictions: The Extraordinary Life of Hannah More by Karen Swallow Prior and Eric Metaxas

Songs of a Housewife: Poems by Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings, edited by Rodger L. Tarr

A Proper Pursuit by Lynn Austin

Finishing Our Course with Joy: Guidance from God for Engaging with Our Aging by J. I. Packer

Up Next:

The Illusionist’s Apprentice by Kristy Cambron

The Story Keeper by Lisa Wingate

Threads of Suspicion by Dee Henderson

The Strange Case of Dr. Jeckyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson, spurred not only by the Back to the Classics Challenge but also Rebekah’s review.

What are you reading this summer?

Save

Save

4 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: June 2017

  1. I’m anxious to read your review of Don Quixote! “Finishing Our Course” sounds interesting. Our pastor just finished preaching on Solomon and how, although he started well, he didn’t finish too well. It was sad to look at his life, really —

  2. Well Barbara, I’ve added a few more to my TBR pile… I always appreciate the books I find on your blog. They are books that I like to share with my 92 year old grandmother. She loves to read!

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.