Bookish Questions

I just rediscovered a link I had kept on file where someone tagged me in a book-related meme. Thanks to Dancing Books for tagging me, and I apologize for taking so long to respond. I’m afraid I had totally forgotten about it.

According to her post, these are in conjunction with a Sisterhood of the World Bloggers award, and the rules for it are as follows:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site.
  2. Put the award logo on your blog.
  3. Answer the ten questions sent to you.
  4. Make up ten new questions for your nominees to answer.
  5. Nominate ten blogs

sisterhood-of-the-world-bloggers-tag-image-014

I don’t usually do blog awards here any more, for various reasons, but I am doing these mainly for the bookish questions. Dancing Books’ questions for me were:

1. If you were stranded on a desert island with no hope of ever returning, which male or female character would you want to be stranded with?

That would be very hard to say, but off the top of my head, Elinor Dashwood of Sense and Sensibility comes to mind. She’s resourceful, knows how to economize, isn’t flighty, and we’re similar in personality.

2. Who is your favourite villain?

Inspector Javert from Les Miserables. He thinks he’s on the side of right. He stands for the good causes of righteousness and justice but forgets forgiveness and mercy and compassion. He reminds me somewhat of the apostle Paul who persecutes Christians because he thinks they are sinning against the God he thinks he is serving, yet unlike Paul, who is brought prostrate and converted when he is brought face to face with the truth, Javert can’t face it, can’t comprehend it, and sadly destroys himself.

3. Would you prefer to watch the TV show/movie or read the book?

Read the book. Most books take many more hours to complete than a movie, so there’s more time for plot and character development and nuance. The exception would be long classics. Sometimes they’re too daunting to read, or too wordy (by today’s standards), so sometimes a film can give you the essence of it and then help you know whether you’d want to explore the book further.

What’s your preference, eReader or physical books? Why?

Physical books – there’s so much more to the reading experience than just dragging eyes across words. However, now that I have gotten used to an eReader, I do like it a lot. I like the sheer number of books I can put on it, the free or cheap deals I can find for it, and the fact that I can search for a word or phrase. I also like that I can pull up a list of all the places I highlighted – nice for reviewing or reminding myself of them.

What is your all time favourite book? Why?

Oh, that’s such a hard question. As a Christian, naturally the Bible is my ultimate favorite – not just because it’s “supposed” to be. I love reading it and I love its effect in my life. But other than that, probably A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens or Les Miserables by Victor Hugo. Though books set in France or around the French Revolution aren’t my favorites, both of these have a beautiful story line overall plus wonderful individual scenes.

Thinking about your all time favourite book, what would be good songs to listen to while reading it?

I can’t listen to music while reading, but music from the Les Miserables musical would go with either one.

Think about your favourite book again, if it was made into a movie, what character would you want to play?

I’d probably like to play Lucie Manette from Two Cities, but I’d “fit” Miss Pross better. 🙂

If you woke up and found an elephant in your back yard, what would you do?

OK, this is pretty random. 🙂 I’d call animal control and stay inside. Maybe fill up the kiddie pool with water so it would have something to drink.

What’s a funny joke related to books or reading?

Here are a few from Pinterest:

45be8c3e418ef55ee47b40be7a68a3e3

83bfa5d41238377150b3204960da08d5

24738c549b530bd4c4bd5bc66b1ab1e0

244481c192aef74c0102672a9f4a682d

bb2ed14012bc515886b370b3c853602f

c7b75f3aab78bd4037a8f8bb0ecebd4f

fb71e276c78987f4b274e25b640c8390

ce2d13a3cecdd254d693494074cbce67

mockingbird

Aside from reading, what else do you like to do in your spare time?

Write, make cards, cross stitch, organize, decorate, sew…there are too few hours in the day!

Here are my ten questions for others:

  1. Do you remember the first book you read or really liked?
  2. How did your love for reading come about (grew up in a reading family, a certain book captivated you, etc.)?
  3. What is your favorite genre to read?
  4. What genre do you avoid reading?
  5. What is your favorite movie based on a book?
  6. What’s your least favorite movie based on a book?
  7. What is your favorite time and place to read?
  8. Are you in any “real life” book clubs or discussion groups?
  9. How many bookcases do you have?
  10. What is a favorite quote about books or from a book?

My nominees are:

  1. Carrie at Reading to Know
  2. Monica at Adventures in Everyday Life
  3. Melanie at Simply Amazing Grace
  4. Lou Ann at In the Way
  5. Bekah at bekahcubed
  6. Susan at Girls in White Dresses
  7. Rbclibrary at By the Book
  8. Lisa at LisaNotes
  9. Susanne at Living to Tell the Story
  10. Tori at My Home Away From Home

If you don’t like to do these things, my feelings won’t be hurt. Some love them and some don’t. And if you’d like to and, due to the limit of ten, I didn’t name you, please feel free to do them anyway or answer them in the comments if you’d rather not on your blog. Hope you have fun with them. Let me know when and if you do these and I’ll be happy to come read your answers.

8 thoughts on “Bookish Questions

  1. Hi, Barbara.. Thanks for tagging me. I love the funny bookish graphics! The “Old Yeller” one almost made me choke on my coffee. I’ve answered the questions on my blog but I probably won’t nominate others. I don’t think my brain could come up with ten new questions!

  2. You had great answers. Some of those were hard questions! This sounds like fun and I’ll get to it over the weekend! Don’t know how good I’ll do coming up with own questions though. I might have to steal a few. 😉

  3. just getting back from vacation this is going to take me some time to get done. I’ve got some catching up to do around here and it’s my last week end to get my taxes done before our meeting.! 🙂 I will get to it though!

  4. I’m GOING to do this! 🙂 It’s fun and I was actually looking up a bookish meme to participate in because it had been awhile and I was wanting to do one. We opened our LEGO shop and all of my time just flitted away and I’m having difficulties staying on top of things. So this post is coming.

    Meanwhile, I think the picture of the dog with the Old Yeller caption is HILARIOUS!

  5. Pingback: A Bookish Meme « Bekahcubed

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.