Friday’s Fave Five

FFF spring2It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

Here are some highlights of my week:

1. Feeling back to normal after the “procedure that wasn’t” last week. I was thinking I shouldn’t have much to recover from since they didn’t actually do the procedure, but I guess poking around in my heart for a couple of hours takes its toll.

2. Hospital discount. Forgot to mention this last week, but when we got a call for pregistration, we were told if we wanted to go ahead and pay our portion then, we’d get a 20% discount. Since we were still paying from our deductible before insurance kicked in, that helped quite a lot.
3. Nature’s Valley Protein Crunchy Granola with Peanut Butter and Dark Chocolate.
granola
Saw this in the grocery store and decided to try it. Normally I don’t care for dark chocolate, but this is good. The protein helps with those low late morning or afternoon slumps.
4. A new pastor. Some of you may remember that our pastor passed away last September. We recently voted on a new pastor, and he accepted the position. He happens to be our former assistant pastor! Now we will need to look for a new assistant, but I am hoping that is not as long a process. Even though the leadership has been doing a great job — the church hasn’t just been sitting on the sidelines, but has been engaging in various ministries along the way — it does feel good to have a designated senior pastor to take the reins.
5. Jason and Mittu’s anniversary. Hard to believe it has been six years already, and this year has been momentous with a new job, having a preemie baby who is doing great, and a new home. We watched little Timothy while his mom and dad went out for dinner, and he did well. He’s such a joy!
Happy Friday!

11 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Oh dear, I missed the procedure that wasn’t. I’ll have to go back and read your post. I’m so behind on blogging and reading with not being able to be on the computer for extended periods because of my own surgery. But I’m glad you are recuperating well for whatever it is that they did do. Happy Anniversary to Jason and Mittu! And so glad you have found a new head pastor. We went to a church that had to do that and the process was grueling and very hard on that particular congregation. Glad to hear that your church fared well and kept moving on with God’s work.

  2. I’ve been wondering how much “recovery” would be involved even though they weren’t actually able to do the procedure. I’m glad that you are starting to feel better again.

    Aren’t those hospital discounts wonderful!

    I’m so glad that your church now has a senior pastor again. We’ve gone for as long as two years at a time without a pastor and I know what it is like.

    Congratulations to your son and daughter-in-law on six years of marriage. They have had quite a year so far this year! Glad you were able to enjoy Timothy while they went out to celebrate. 🙂

    Have a wonderful weekend, Barbara.

  3. Well, I’m glad you are recuperating from the procedure that wasn’t. And that the correct one will get scheduled and completed! Hope things will feel more settled with a senior pastor in place.

    Yes, a momentous year for Jason and Mittu — congratulations for all the good things this year. They must be loving their new more spacious home.

  4. Aw, precious times babysitting a grandie! Glad you were able to and that his parents could celebrate knowing you were on the job!

    I’m not a dark chocolate fan either, but that granola looks good.

    I’m happy for your church that they have found a pastor. Every church needs one! How nice that you already know and love him!

  5. I remember when I used to read The Sparrow’s Nest and Feed Me, I’m Yours by Vicki Lanksy. Sorry to hear that Kelli from The Sparrow’s Nest is no longer blogging. I had to laugh at the two examples you shared from the Lansky book. Yep, I sure wouldn’t want my kiddos drinking bath tub water either.

    I recently bought the same granola bars for my Yosemite trip. They were tasty and will be on my shopping list again.

    How encouraging to get your church home back into a routine. I will pray, too, that an assistant pastor is quickly found.

    Glad you are feeling better. 😉

  6. Glad you are feeling better. I went back and read your post on the procedure that wasn’t, and for not going through it, it was a heck of an ordeal for you. I imagine it was traumatic to your system, so no wonder you needed to recover. So glad you’re doing better, Barbara.

    I’m going to look for that granola, too. I’m sure my hubby would love it.

    Congratulations to Jason and Mittu!

  7. I can fully imagine there would be recovery time necessary for the “un procedure”! I hope you get feeling back to normal soon. I’ve tried that granola. It *is* good! So glad you have a new pastor in the works.

  8. Happy Anniversary to your son and dil! They’ve had quite a year.
    Any dark chocolate you don’t want, send it my way! And I’ll pass on the milk chocolate to you 🙂

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.