Books Read in 2013

booksflr

At the end of the year I like to look back at what I’ve read during the year. In the next post I’ll be picking out my top 10 or so from this list. I’ve divided them up into categories without much description or commentary. I decided to list the audiobooks with the other books by type rather than in a separate category.

Non-fiction:

Classics:

  • Daniel Deronda by George Eliot, reviewed here.
  • Emily of New Moon by Lucy Maud Montgomery reviewed here.
  • Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury, audiobook, reviewed here.
  • Island of the Blue Dolphins, by Scott O’Dell, reviewed here.
  • The Last Battle by C. S. Lewis, reviewed here.
  • Little Women, audiobook, linked to a previous year’s review.
  • The Magician’s Nephew by C. S. Lewis, reviewed here.
  • Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen, audiobook, linked to an earlier review here
  • On the Banks of Plum Creek by Laura Ingalls Wilder, reviewed here
  • The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde, reviewed here.
  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, audiobook.
  • The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne, reviewed here,
  • Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen. audiobook, linked to an earlier review here
  • A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens, audiobook, linked to an earlier review here.

Christian Fiction:

Other Fiction:

I wasn’t sure whether to put Jan Karon with the classics (though her books probably haven’t been around long enough to be called classics, but I think of them that way) or Christian fiction (though there is a definite Christian current in her books, I don’t think they were marketed as Christian fiction). I finally settled for “other.”

A couple of them, like the New American Standard Bible and With the Word by Warren Wiersbe, were completed this year but were begun long before.

By my count that’s 75 books. I’m surprised that I read more non-fiction than usual, and that I didn’t read as much from my favorite category, Christian fiction. many of the classics were rereads, which is why they’re linked to earlier reviewed of them.

There are a handful of these that I didn’t enjoy or even had some serious problems with, and there are a handful that were not bad but didn’t really do much for me. Most are good in some way or another, and there are a few standouts that I really benefited from and enjoyed. I’ll talk about the standouts in the next post.

I’ll be linking up on Saturday with Semicolon’s Saturday Review of Books, where this week she is inviting us to share our book lists for 2013.

4 thoughts on “Books Read in 2013

  1. Pingback: My Top Ten Books Read in 2013 | Stray Thoughts

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.