It Was For Me

I love the words to this song,  and the music by Rod France arranged by Faye Lopez beautifully expresses the message.

Why leave a heav’nly mansion?
Why choose a simple stall?
Why wander poor and homeless,
The King and Lord of all?
Why heal a lonely beggar?
Why cause the blind to see?
The Light of all creation,
Shining there for me?

Chorus:
It was for me He cried, for me He died,
for me He shed His blood upon the tree.
It was for me He came, for me His shame;
For me, oh praise His name, it was for me.

Why stay in Olive’s garden?
Why spend the night in prayer?
Why suffer such betrayal
In anguish kneeling there?
Why leave His mother crying?
Why set Barabbas free?
The spotless Lamb of heaven
Given there for me.

Why climb that dreadful mountain?
Why suffer agony?
Why give His blood a fountain,
Spilled and broken, flowing free?
When He walked the road to Calv’ry,
Gave His life so willingly,
Broken there, the Rose of Sharon died for me.

(Chorus)

The King who came from heaven,
To the cry, “There is no room,”
Now must lay His weary body
In a cold and borrowed tomb.
But the grave, it would not hold Him;
Death lost its victory.
The risen Lord of glory
is living now for me.

It was for me He cried, for me He died,
for me He shed His blood upon the tree.
It was for me He came, for me His shame;
For me, oh praise His name, it was for me.

— Dave Bolling

But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed. All we like sheep have gone astray; we have turned every one to his own way; and the LORD hath laid on him the iniquity of us all. Isaiah 53:5-6.

______________________________

Updated to add: I have been asked several times for the sheet music for this song. I don’t have it. I only have a recorded version on a couple of CDs (Creator, Redeemer and King by The Wilds Men’s Quartet; another is Sing Praise to God by The Wilds Christian Camp. An instrumental version is on the Almighty, Unchangeable God CD, also from The Wilds.) At this time the Wilds Christian Camp has a SATB version as well as a TTBB version on their site. Go to http://wilds.org/, click on Store, then Click on Product Search and search for the song by title.

23 thoughts on “It Was For Me

  1. Hi! Can I ask if I can have a copy of the music sheet or back track of this very beautiful song? A friend of mine would like to sing it during the Holy Week and it would really help a lot. Thanks!

  2. Like the last post here on your site, I am looking for the lyrics and if known where to get an accompanyment tape or CD. I have a marvelous CD with the Steffens family singing, but would like to have it sung for an upcoming Communion Service. I know the Steffens recorded at Fountainview Academy in British Columbia. But I don’t have contact for them.

  3. Demein and Linda,

    Since I don’t sing, I have no idea where to find sheet music. The CD I linked to above is from the Wilds Christian Camp (http://www.wilds.org/) — perhaps you could e-mail them and see if they have it or know where to get it. Faye Lopez arranged that particular version and she now works at BJU, I believe (www.bju.edu). Perhaps you could get a message to her there and ask if she knows whether and where it might be available. Both sites also have online stores where they might sell it.

    • *As I said earlier in the comments, since I don’t sing, I have no idea where to find sheet music. The CD I linked to is from the Wilds Christian Camp (http://www.wilds.org/ ) — perhaps you could e-mail them and see if they have it or know where to get it. Faye Lopez arranged that particular version and she now works at BJU, I believe (www.bju.edu ). Perhaps you could get a message to her there and ask if she knows whether and where it might be available. Both sites also have online stores where they might sell it.*

  4. The Wilds (mentioned in earlier posts) had a ladies’ trio arrangement of it in one of their books. They may also have a choral arrangement. The only solo arrangement that I know of is now out of print, but I have sung it several times and LOVE the message of the song. I also have an orchestral CD from the Wilds that has an arrangement that I sing along with.

  5. This is a truly wonderful and deeply inspiring song. I love it. We sang it in our choral concert in Cardiff last year and it was a deeply moving experience.

  6. Pingback: Songs About Christ’s Death for Us | Stray Thoughts

  7. Thank you so much for putting the lyrics to this song up! One of the saddest things for me is when there is a good sacred song and I cannot find the words to meditate on when I can’t listen to the music and I am so grateful for the people who take the time to write them out for us who cannot hear them as well!

    God bless you!

  8. I’m Rod France the songwriter. I wrote this melody 30 years ago and thought it was long forgotten or never really noticed. Recently I found many versions of my song on YouTube videos. What a thrill to hear it sung all over the world – one video was made by a choir and soloist in Wales, Great Britain.

    Rod
    rnbfrance1@gmail.com

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.