Friday’s Fave Five

Susanne at Living to Tell the Story hosts a “Friday Fave Five” in which we share our five favorite things from the past week. Click on the button to read more of the details.

So here are my favorites from the past week:

1. Chocolate pianos. Why would I need a chocolate piano, you ask? Jesse’s piano recital was last night, and though we don’t always get his teacher a gift, for some reason this year I decided to try to find a chocolate piano for her. And. voila, I found several online. I chose this one from Ann Hemyng Candy, Inc.’s Chocolate Factory. It came nicely packaged as well. I thought it was really cute.

Chocolate piano

2. Secret Sisters. Our ladies’ group gives ladies the option of participating as a “secret sister” through the year. We chose a name for the year and secretly, anonymously pray for each other and give little gifts, then reveal our secret identities at the Christmas party in December. We just had our party on Monday, and the lady who had my name is a long-time friend. I am surprised I didn’t figure out it was her! I actually suspected at one point, but then one day a man at church made it a point to tell me there was something for me at the back table, so I began to suspect it was his wife, and that threw me off. But my secret sister gave me this cute snowman dish and dishtowel.

Snowman plate and towel

I’d been wanting a new serving dish for the holidays…the one I had was plastic and cracking in places.

3. Winning things! I won these sweet little dove ornaments made by Dawn at 4:53 am, one of my favorite craft blogs.

Dove ornaments

4. Jesse’s first basketball game. Though I’ve been inwardly moaning about having to be out two nights this week for basketball along with everything else going on, I did rediscover the enjoyment of going to the games and visiting with other parents. Jesse not only started but played the whole game. This is him in the air.

Jesse's first BB game

Their first game was against a much bigger, better, more experienced school, so they weren’t expecting to win, but considering their opponent and the fact that this was their first game, and, for a few of them, like Jesse, their first year on the team, they did well. They only lost by 9 points.

5. Sunshine. We’ve been low on rainfall for a long time and needed the rain, but after two days of it I was so glad to see the sunshine this morning.

Bonuses:

6. Hobby Lobby! I’ve been wanting to put a little miniature Christmas tee on the dry sink in my kitchen but have had a hard time getting it together. I got a tree a year or tow ago in an after Christmas sale, and had a set of a few ornaments, but couldn’t seem to find the right accessories. But Hobby Lobby this week not only had everything I needed, it was all marked 50% off! I was surprised to see it marked down before the holidays.

7. Online shopping!!

Happy Friday!

15 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Good morning Barbara! Love the air shot you got of Jesse! Cute snow man dish and what a fun idea to have a secret pal for a year. Glad you found those bargains! have a great weekend…

  2. Barbara, fantastic shot of Jesse! I haven’t been to a game in ages — I’m glad you enjoyed the time. And (#2) how nice to get something that you happen to need 🙂 Black and white shortbread recipe will be posted tomorrow, I think. I want to take a photo or two of them completed.

  3. A chocolate piano! Whatever even made you think there could be such a thing? LOL That is really cool – and what a special gift!

    And 50% off at a craft store is enough to cause a celebration!
    Okay, I’m off to check out 4:53 am.

  4. Thanks for the birthday wishes, Barbara.

    I enjoyed your list, especially the chocolate piano (I want one, and I don’t even play the instrument!) and the Hobby Lobby deals. I had a similar experience this week … I went to Hobby Lobby for Christmas decor, and everything was 50% off. I think the economy issues are hitting the retailers pretty hard.

    Hooray for online shopping as well! My family might not get gifts from me if it weren’t for online shopping. 🙂

  5. That is a great list. Cute doves, wonderful chocolate piano. Do you think she will eat it or display it? So cute.

    And bargains! Gotta love a Christmas bargain. I bought 2 trees at Hobby Lobby (currently in my living room) last year after Christmas for $5 each. Amazing! And a small tree for my counter in the kitchen for 98 cents! They are the place to shop.

  6. What a great post. Yay for Jesse for playing the whole game.

    The piano is so cute–what a neat and yummy website! I am a Hobby Lobby junkie. But never buy anything that is full price–sooner or later there is a sale!!

    Congrats on your gifts & winnings. I enjoy Dawn’s site so much.

    By the way…I “cleaned up” my post from the other day. Embarrassed that I let that photo slip by. To say I’ve been distracted is an understatement, but my face is still red. Thanks for the heads up!

    Prayers that you are enjoying these days!!

    Julie

  7. A chocolate piano – what a clever idea and how nice that you found one.

    I ran over and printed out her pattern for the birdie ornaments. Funny. I posted about felt dove ornaments about an hour ago.

    Hobby Lobby is unbelievable this year – 50% off practically everything, BEFORE Christmas. I’m going there today…again. LOL

  8. A piano chocolate! Very cute and so clever of you to actually find one. I would never have thought of that.

    Great shot of your son in play. I really miss going to my girl’s games. I really enjoyed them.

    Always “Yeah” for 50% off!

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.