Thursday Thirteen: Reasons to read the Bible

I go back and forth on “Thursday Thirteens” between funny and serious ones. I didn’t realize at first that my thoughts about this post and the Works For Me Wednesday post were running along the same tracks.

Thirteen Reasons to Read the Bible

1. To learn of Christ

John 5:39: Search the scriptures; for in them ye think ye have eternal life: and they are they which testify of me.

2. To increase our faith.

Romans 10:17: So then faith cometh by hearing, and hearing by the word of God.

3. Guidance.

Psalm 119:105: Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path.

4. Doctrine, reproof, correction, instruction in righteousness.

2 Timothy 3:16: All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness.

5. To give us hope and comfort.

Romans 15:4: For whatsoever things were written aforetime were written for our learning, that we through patience and comfort of the scriptures might have hope.

6. To help us avoid sin.

Psalm 119:9: Wherewithal shall a young man cleanse his way? by taking heed thereto according to thy word.

7. To compare what we are hearing with what God has said.

Acts 17:11 These were more noble than those in Thessalonica, in that they received the word with all readiness of mind, and searched the scriptures daily, whether those things were so.

8. Fruitfulness, stability.

Psalm 1

1 Blessed is the man that walketh not in the counsel of the ungodly, nor standeth in the way of sinners, nor sitteth in the seat of the scornful.

2 But his delight is in the law of the LORD; and in his law doth he meditate day and night.

3 And he shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water, that bringeth forth his fruit in his season; his leaf also shall not wither; and whatsoever he doeth shall prosper.

4 The ungodly are not so: but are like the chaff which the wind driveth away.

5 Therefore the ungodly shall not stand in the judgment, nor sinners in the congregation of the righteous.

6 For the LORD knoweth the way of the righteous: but the way of the ungodly shall perish.

9. Quickening.

Psalm 119:25: My soul cleaveth unto the dust: quicken thou me according to thy word.

Psalm 119:50: This is my comfort in my affliction: for thy word hath quickened me.

10. Understanding.

Psalm 119: 103-104: How sweet are thy words unto my taste! yea, sweeter than honey to my mouth! Through thy precepts I get understanding: therefore I hate every false way.

Psalm 119:130: The entrance of thy words giveth light; it giveth understanding unto the simple.

11. Our rejoicing.

Psalm 119:162: I rejoice at thy word, as one that findeth great spoil.

Jeremiah 15:16: Thy words were found, and I did eat them; and thy word was unto me the joy and rejoicing of mine heart: for I am called by thy name, O LORD God of hosts.

12. Our sanctification.

John 17:17: Sanctify them through thy truth: thy word is truth.

13. To see Scripture fulfilled.

Matthew 26:56: But all this was done, that the scriptures of the prophets might be fulfilled. Then all the disciples forsook him, and fled.

John 2:22: When therefore he was risen from the dead, his disciples remembered that he had said this unto them; and they believed the scripture, and the word which Jesus had said. (See also Matthew 21:42; 26:54; Mark 12;10; 14:49; 15:28; Luke 4:21; 24:27; John 7:42; 13:18; 17:12; 19:24, 28, 36, 37; Acts 1:16; 18:28; Romans 1:2; Galatians 3:8; James 2:23; I Peter 2:6 – to name a few). 🙂

See More “Thursday Thirteen” lists here and here.

Thursday Thirteen banner courtesy of Lisa.

32 thoughts on “Thursday Thirteen: Reasons to read the Bible

  1. I had never thought of reading the Bible in such a way. Awesome list, thank you for sharing it. I have been slcking, and this has inspired me to dig in again. What I need to do is make a daily schedule for myself, and pencil God in for the first thing. :O)

  2. Pingback: Booking Through Thursday: Truly Biblical « Stray Thoughts

  3. Pingback: The 100th Thursday Thirteen Celebration « Stray Thoughts

  4. Pingback: Reading the Bible « Stray Thoughts

  5. Pingback: Plan to read the Bible more this year? « Stray Thoughts

  6. Pingback: Books to read before you die « Stray Thoughts

  7. Pingback: Works For Me Wednesday: Devotional Tips « Stray Thoughts

  8. Pingback: Meet My Bible « Stray Thoughts

  9. Wow! What a site. You have a real knack for making a blog readable and easy on the eyes. I am always interested in reading other sites about religion, they give me a lot to think about. I don’t have time to read all of the articles here right now, I found this site when looking for something else on Yahoo, but I’ve bookmarked your homepage and will check back soon to see your latest thoughts. What is your preferred translation of the Bible? I think they are all good, don’t really have a preferred one myself. I have a site with Biblical passages on it. Please bookmark it – it as at http://www.GotTB.com. I just redesigned the site with a new look and feel, please let me know what you think of the new layout. God’s Peace!

  10. Thank you for sharing this list. I am going to teach from the book 66 Love Letters by Larry Crabb. At our first meeting I want to share why we study/read the Bible. You had a few thoughts I didn’t think of.

  11. Pingback: Grateful for 5 Things That Put Life into Perspective « Fruitful Devotion by Pastor Susan

  12. Pingback: Devotional Tips « Stray Thoughts

  13. Pingback: Themes of My Life | Stray Thoughts

  14. Pingback: Is it nice to call someone a false prophet or a false teacher? | Stray Thoughts

  15. Pingback: Finding Time to Read the Bible | Stray Thoughts

  16. Pingback: Help for Changing Thought Patterns | Stray Thoughts

  17. Pingback: Grateful for 5 Things That Put Life into Perspective | Fruitful Words

  18. Pingback: Studying the Parts to Understand the Whole | Stray Thoughts

  19. Pingback: How to Get Out of a Bible Reading Rut | Stray Thoughts

  20. Pingback: Why Keep Reading the Bible? | Stray Thoughts

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.