Announcing: A Laura Ingalls Wilder Reading Challenge

Last year during Carrie‘s Lucy Maud Montgomery Reading Challenge, I remarked that I was thinking about doing the same thing with either Laura Ingalls Wilder or Louisa May Alcott. There seemed to be a lot of interest in Laura, so in trying to determine what month would be good for a challenge, I saw that her birth and death both occurred in February. February seemed the ideal month, then, to have a reading challenge focused on Laura Ingalls Wilder.

You can read anything Laura has written or anything written about Laura. You can read alone or with your children or a friend. You can read just one book or several throughout the month — whatever works with your schedule. If you’d like to prepare some food or crafts somehow relating to Laura or her books, that would be really neat too.

On Feb 1, 2012, I’ll have a post up where you can sign in and let us know you’ll be participating and what you think you’d like to read that month. That way we can peek in on each other through the month and see how it’s going (that’s half the fun of a reading challenge). On Wed., Feb. 29, I’ll have another post where you can share with us links to your wrap-up post. Of course if you want to post through the month as you read, as well, that would be great, and I might share those from time to time. You don’t have to have a blog to participate: you can just leave your impressions in the comments if you like.

I’m really looking forward to getting back in touch with these books. I’ve read the whole original Little House series at least once, maybe more, but I am not sure whether I’ll reread those or a biography of her and a book of her newspaper columns I have been wanting to get to as well.

So, what do you think? Anyone interested? Make plans now to join us this February — I’m looking forward to seeing you then!

The Laura Ingalls Wilder Reading Challenge

33 thoughts on “Announcing: A Laura Ingalls Wilder Reading Challenge

  1. Great idea! Little House on the Praire is one of the only shows my mom would let us watch in the 70’s … Don’t know if I have even read the books she wrote…I have read her biography, she was a remarkable woman. I hope to have time by Feb. to join you….

  2. Well, given the fact that one of the Little House stories is played at least 3 out of 7 days a week at our house (more or less), I’m in! There is a book (a memoir, I think) entitled The Wilder Lufe that I wanted to read. . .

  3. Well, phooey! I just put up a LAW post TODAY. If I’d known about this upcoming challenge I’d (maybe) have waited. 🙂

    There’s another LAW bio that I’d like to read, so maybe I’ll plan on that for February!

  4. I’ve been wanting to read the Little House books, so this will be a good excuse to get in them! I’ve been trying to pick them up at Goodwill as I find them. I’m up to 3! 😉

  5. How fun! I’ve been reading through the entire Little House series with my sons as part of school. I’ve always loved her books! Maybe I’ll try to read a biography as well.

  6. What a fun thing to do! I tried reading “Little House in the Big Woods” with my boys last summer but they just weren’t into it. Maybe I’ll try again. Little House on the Prairie was one of my favorite books when I was growing up.

  7. Followed from Reading to Know… This works beautifully with my reading plans for next year. We are shifting to Westward Expansion in our home school and Laura Ingalls Wilder books are on my list of things to read and do with my kids. Guess I’ll just arrange our lesson plans to do them in February. 🙂

  8. Pingback: What’s On Your Nightstand: November « Stray Thoughts

  9. I actually read all of these last year for the first time, and read a biography last month. But I LOVED it. I’m reading A Little House Traveler right now. 🙂

  10. Pingback: Fall Into Reading 2011 Wrap-up « Stray Thoughts

  11. Little house on the prairie was a great show, we have most of the DVDs of it but still awaiting the local release of the final ones.

  12. Pingback: Two weeks from today… « Stray Thoughts

  13. Pingback: What’s On Your Nightstand: January 2012 « Stray Thoughts

  14. Pingback: January 2012 Nightstand | Hope Is the Word

  15. Pingback: The Laura Ingalls Wilder Reading Challenge « Stray Thoughts

  16. Pingback: Laura Ingalls Wilder: Visiting the Old Familiar « bekahcubed

  17. Pingback: Books For February | SusieQ's Samplings

  18. Pingback: The Laura Ingalls Wilder Reading Challenge 2015 | Stray Thoughts

  19. Pingback: The Laura Ingalls Wilder Reading Challenge 2016 | Stray Thoughts

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.