The Week In Words

”"

Welcome to The Week In Words, where we share quotes from the last week’s reading. If something you read this past week  inspired you, caused you to laugh, cry, think, dream, or just resonated with you in some way, please share it with us, attributing it to its source, which can be a book, newspaper, blog, Facebook — anything that you read. More information is here.

Here are a few that stood out to me:

From the July/August 2001 issue of The Elisabeth Elliot Newsletter:

The Purpose of Trouble

“Whatever else trouble is in the world for, it is here for this good purpose: to develop strength. For trouble is a moral and spiritual task. It is something which is hard to do. And it is in the spiritual world as in the physical, strength is increased by encounter with the difficult. A world without any trouble in it would be, to people of our kind, a place of spiritual enervation and moral laziness. Fortunately, every day is crowded with care. Every day to every one of us brings its questions, its worries, and its tasks, brings its sufficiency of trouble. Thus we get our daily spiritual exercise. Every day we are blessed with new opportunities for the development of strength of soul.” ~ George Hodges

I think I saw this on a couple of people’s Facebook:

Christianity if false is of no importance & if true is of infinite importance but it can’t be moderately important ~ C. S. Lewis

If you’ve read anything that particularly spoke to you that you’d like to share, please either list it in the comments below or write a post on your blog and then put the link to that post (not your general blog link) in Mr. Linky below. I do ask that only family-friendly quotes be included.

I hope you’ll visit some of the other participants as well and glean some great thoughts to ponder. And don’t forget to leave a comment here, even if you don’t have any quotes to share! 🙂

9 thoughts on “The Week In Words

  1. Something I read last week that encouraged me — from John Piper’s blog:
    “Jesus speaks these stunning words to you: “Neither do I condemn you.” Why? Because he has been condemned in your place. ALL your guilt has been removed. No stone of God’s righteous wrath will crush you because Jesus was crushed for your iniquities.”

  2. “Fortunately, every day is crowded with care.” Can’t say I’ve ever thought about it that way, but I suppose it is true. Troubles in this life are a means by which God is conforming believers into His image–so we surely ought to rejoice in tribulation.

    I dreamed last night that you decided to stop doing The Week in Words–and am so grateful that dream is not true. Thank you for faithfully hosting. I love reading around for insights.

  3. Pingback: WiW: Engagement Advice « bekahcubed

  4. Interesting — that last quote was part of last night’s Alpha presentation at church last night.

    “Every day we are blessed with new opportunities for the development of strength of soul.” What a great way to approach the day!

  5. No quote from me today.

    I agree with Hodges discussion about trouble. I’ve sure had plenty the past few months, and I believe that my spiritual muscles have strengthened.

  6. Pingback: WiW: Revisiting Osteen « bekahcubed

  7. Pingback: WiW: Helpless « bekahcubed

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.