Book Review: Anne of Windy Poplars

L. M. Montgomery Reading ChallengeI am participating in Carrie‘s third annual Lucy Maud Montgomery Reading Challenge and finished Anne of Windy Poplars, the fourth in her Anne of Green Gables series.

In this book, Anne and Gilbert are engaged (sorry if that is a spoiler for anyone, but most people who are at all familiar with the books or films are aware that they do eventually marry), but Gilbert has three years of medical school left, so Anne takes the position of a principal at Summerside High during those three years. It’s far enough away that she can’t live at home, yet close enough to visit Avonlea over weekends. As Anne adjusts to her new job, living arrangements, and community, she finds that she is up against a couple of unexpected foes: sarcastic, brittle coworker Katherine, and the entire Pringle clan, the leading family who seems to run much of the town. One of the Pringle relatives was up for the job that was given to Anne, so immediately they are all against her. Most of her students are Pringles or half-Pringles who make her job especially difficult.

Yet Anne finds unexpected treasures in little Elizabeth, a neighbor girl in a strictly controlled loveless home, and various characters she meets, and she sets herself to change the tide of the Pringle sentiments and win Katherine’s friendship.

Even though I am an Anne fan, I have to say this is not my favorite of the first four books, for several reasons:

  • We see very little of the old Avonlea characters.
  • We see very little of Gilbert even though they are now engaged.
  • Much of the book is written in the form of Anne’s letters to Gilbert. A few would have been fine, and even though Anne’s letters are long and more narrative than we usually see these days…it’s just not as enjoyable as reading a story.
  • Anne seems a little….overbearing and almost smug at times in her setting people straight.
  • There seems to be a little more meanness than in the other books. There have always been gossipers and snipes who are generally the antagonists in LMM’s books,  but they just seemed a little more caustic this time. For example, one girl says to Anne, “Amy hates you because she wanted to be my bridesmaid. But I couldn’t have anyone so fat and dumpy now, could I?” Even Anne said, “If I stayed any longer I’d either go crazy or slap Mrs. Gibson’s nutcracker face.”

However many moons ago I first read the Anne books, I then found everything else by Lucy Maud Montgomery I could read, and found a couple of books of her short stories. I don’t remember the titles now, but I remember thinking she was almost better at shorter stories than full-length books. This books almost seems like a collection of short stories. There are plot threads running throughout of Anne’s interactions with the Pringles, Katherine, and the ladies Anne boards with, but many of the chapters focus on isolated individuals or families. Some of their situations are comedic, some tragic. Almost all of them have some problem they want Anne to help with — or that she decides to help with unasked. She “begins to suspect…[she] is an inveterate meddler in other people’s business — always with excellent intentions, of course.” Some people like all the excess characters. I enjoyed some of them but I could have done with a few less.

But despite those caveats, there is much of the old Anne-ishness there. It was good to see her maturing and even getting into a “scrape” or two. Some of the dialogue is wonderful and some of the characters, particularly Katherine and Elizabeth, excellently drawn.

The only other quote I marked from the book was this: “Sarcasm, in man or woman, was the one weapon Anne dreaded. It always hurt her…raised blisters on her soul that smarted for months.” Such an apt description. May I always be careful of blistering anyone’s soul.

I’m curious: have you read this installment of Anne, and did you like it?

(This review will also be linked to Semicolon‘s Saturday review of books.)

13 thoughts on “Book Review: Anne of Windy Poplars

  1. As you know, this is my least favorite book in the series. And I didn’t mind one iota that Kevin Sullivan took aspects of this story and combined it with Anne of Avonlea and Anne of Ingeside and turned it into Anne of Green Gables: The Sequel (the movie.) (Although I positively DESPISE Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story because they made Rilla’s story and made it Anne’s and changed a whole lot of facts.) Anyway, I totally forgive him for not making an Anne of Windy Poplars movie exclusively dedicated to the book because i find this one…boring. And Anne’s letters are long (and overly sappy.)

    Interestingly, after having just read Montgomery’s second volume of journals, I discovered that she really didn’t care for writing short stories. She thought she wrote very poor short stories and better long stories!

    Loved reading your thoughts on this one! After Windy Poplars, I think the series improves again dramatically. This one always trips me up and makes me ready to move on to something else before I get to the next Anne book.

    • Yes, I knew, and tried not to let that influence me. 🙂 But this was one I kind of had to make myself keep going in. That’s odd that she didn’t like to write short stories. She seems to include one of two in every book — at least that’s how I think of those chapters that tell one character’s story that doesn’t relate to the rest of the book, like Mrs. Skinner (“Jog along, black mare”) in Anne of the Island.

  2. Great review! I’ve really enjoyed reading other people’s thoughts on Montgomery’s works.

    I wonder why Montgomery felt the need to write a book that put Anne and Gilbert as engaged by not yet married and then not include Gilbert much. It’s almost as if she were dragging it out because she enjoyed writing about single women more than married women.

    I love your quote about sarcasm. It’s so true! I try not to direct my sarcasm at anyone these days. It does leave marks.

    • 1. Montgomery published this book almost last, after Rilla of Ingleside (why she did that, I can’t say).
      2. Montgomery was engaged to someone she didn’t love and ended up marrying him, realizing that she didn’t love him not even before the wedding was over. Her first son died and her husband had religious melancholy. She had to be strong for her family and hide that side of her husband to everyone. All in all, Montgomery went through signs of depression after marriage. She couldn’t write a great book on happily married women because she didn’t really know what it was like to be happily married.
      I really hope that helped.

  3. Pingback: Anne of Green Gables: The Sequel « Stray Thoughts

  4. Pingback: Lucy Maud Montgomery Reading Challenge Wrap-up « Stray Thoughts

  5. Pingback: What’s On Your Nightstand: February « Stray Thoughts

  6. Pingback: Saturday Review of Books: January 29, 2011 | Semicolon

  7. Pingback: Anne of Windy Poplars by L.M. Montgomery | The Lost Entwife

  8. Pingback: Book Review: Emily of New Moon « Stray Thoughts

  9. Yeah, this is probably the least favorite of the series. It doesn’t really suit me that much especially the long letters that doesn’t attract readers that much.

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.