The Week In Words

”"

Welcome to The Week In Words, where we share quotes from the last week’s reading. If something you read this past week  inspired you, caused you to laugh, cry, think, dream, or just resonated with you in some way, please share it with us, attributing it to its source, which can be a book, newspaper, blog, Facebook — anything that you read. More information is here.

Here are a few that made me stop and think this week:

I have not read anything by John Piper except the occasional quote, but I agree with this, found on a friend’s Facebook:

We have thankful days and unthankful days. And even our thankful days are not as thankful as they should be. Just think of how joyful and thankful you would be if your heart responded to God himself and his ten thousand gifts with admiration and gratitude of which He is worthy. – John Piper

This was from another friend’s Facebook:

Fight for us, O God, that we not drift numb and blind and foolish into vain and empty excitements. Life is too short, too precious, too painful to waste on worldly bubbles that burst. Heaven is too great, hell is too horrible, eternity is too long that we should putter around on the porch of eternity. — John Piper

I have to admit I am struggling a bit with this one. I’d be interested to know the context from which it came. I don’t think he is calling for a life of asceticism: I don’t think there is anything wrong with playing word games on Facebook for relaxation and brain exercise or watching a video with the family. I think the latter, in fact, can enhance the spiritual — if everything we ever say to others is serious and spiritual, I think they’d turn us off after a while, but just relaxing and having some fun and fellowship can open the gateways for relationships and for other serious conversations. But, yes, by and large we do need to be careful to maintain focus and balance and not let “good” pursuits crowd out the “best.”

And from yet another friend’s Facebook:

In fear-based repentance, we don’t hate sin for itself, and it doesn’t lose its attractive power. We learn only to refrain from it for our own sake. Fear-based repentance makes us hate ourselves, but joy-based repentance makes us hate sin as we rejoice over God’s sacrificial love …& see what it cost him to save us. What most assures of God’s unconditional love is what most convicts us of the evil of sin. — Tim Keller

I am struggling a bit with this one, too. I think fear has its place and I’d like to understand more what he means by “joy-based repentance.” The Bible does talk about godly sorrow leading to repentance. But to me the value in the quote is the focus that our repentance shouldn’t be just about getting ourselves out of trouble or fearing consequences, but rather it is based on the offense of a holy God and yet His mercy and grace in making a way for us to be forgiven.

Finally, this from F. B. Meyer’s Our Daily Walk for November 10 on gentleness as a fruit of the Holy Spirit struck a chord with me:

It is not easy to cultivate this fruit of the Spirit because it has many counterfeits. Some people are naturally easy-going, devoid of energy and ambition, at heart cowardly, or in spirit mean. Many of us are characterized by a moral weakness and decrepitude that make it easy for us to yield rather than contest in the physical or intellectual arena.

But in gentleness there must be the consciousness of a considerable reserve of force. The gentleness of God is combined with omnipotence…It is the prerogative of great strength to be gentle.

The thought of gentleness as being strength under control rather than just being easy-going and yielding gave me much food for thought.

In that same devotional Meyer quotes Thomas a Kempis:

“If thou wilt be borne with, bear also with another. Endeavour to be patient in bearing with the defects and infirmities of others, what sort soever they be: for that thyself also hast many failings which must be borne by others.”

Amen.

If you’ve read anything that particularly spoke to you that you’d like to share, please either list it in the comments below or write a post on your blog and then put the link to that post (not your general blog link) in Mr. Linky below in the comments. I do ask that only family-friendly quotes be included. I hope you’ll visit some of the other participants as well and glean some great thoughts to ponder.

Note: The Mr. Linky site says: “System is currently down for emergency maintenance.” If it comes back up during the day, I’ll add your links: meanwhile, just leave them in the comments. Sorry about that!

14 thoughts on “The Week In Words

  1. My words are here:

    http://lisanotes.blogspot.com/2010/11/whats-your-story.html

    Barbara,
    Your first John Piper quote hit me between the eyes: I’m in the middle of an “unthankful” moment. I should be working on math and physics problems with my daughter, but my brain has decided to take a diversion elsewhere for a few minutes.

    And the last quote is another lesson I need at this moment. In my quest to help my daughter rid her life of impatience with me, I need to rid myself of impatience with her. Grace covers us both, thank God.

    Now back to my regularly scheduled program of homeschooling on this fine Monday morning that I should be thankful for. 🙂 Thanks for using the words you found this week to get me back on track.

  2. Mister Linky worked for me… yay!

    “But in gentleness there must be the consciousness of a considerable reserve of force. The gentleness of God is combined with omnipotence…It is the prerogative of great strength to be gentle.” I’m not sure I entirely agree with this thought. I plan to mull on it a bit today.

    It IS interesting to note that some people are naturally gifted with compassion/mercy or gentleness. In that case, they really aren’t super-naturally manifesting a Gift of the Spirit. It just flows out of them, because that’s their nature. (I’m not one of those dear souls!)

    Thanks for hosting your great meme, Barbara~

  3. Barbara,
    The second Piper quote, starting with “Fight for us, O God”, is from his book Seeing and Savoring Christ. You can read it or download it free in PDF from here: http://www.desiringgod.org/resource-library/online-books/seeing-and-savoring-jesus-christ

    The quote is part of a prayer at the end of chapter 8 which is titled “THE INCOMPARABLE SUFFERINGS, The Anguish of Jesus Christ.” The quote is from page 72 of the book.

    As far as the Tim Keller quote, I haven’t read the context. I have a good idea of what I would mean by it however — that might not be considered legitimate, but it might be helpful in trying to determine what Keller means.

    Here’s the quote again:
    “In fear-based repentance, we don’t hate sin for itself, and it doesn’t lose its attractive power. We learn only to refrain from it for our own sake. Fear-based repentance makes us hate ourselves, but joy-based repentance makes us hate sin as we rejoice over God’s sacrificial love …& see what it cost him to save us. What most assures of God’s unconditional love is what most convicts us of the evil of sin.” — Tim Keller

    For example, I (and many other men) have struggled with the sin of lust over the years. It seems to me that one motive for me to repent of lust and other sexual immorality and seek to control my behavior and thoughts is fear of missing out on the kingdom of heaven (see I Cor. 6:9 for example). That motive by itself would be a fear-based motive. I may still be drawn to the sin and when I commit these types of sins down deep I am believing that there is greater pleasure for me in committing them than in abstaining and turning.

    I believe a better, and the only effective long-term solution, is to have Christ change my heart such that I really believe God in seeking all my sexual pleasure in my wife alone or in abstaining if not married — that I really believe God has my best intentions at heart when he tells me to avoid sexual immorality. Do I really believe that I will be happier following God’s gracious, good prescriptions for my life — not just in my head but in my heart? It takes the miracle of God working to change my heart. Some of these changes will happen in this life, some not until the next. But they are “joy-based” and the best motives.

    Or think of the verse, “the pure in heart shall see God.” If I really believe this, if God grants me the longing to see Him as superior to the dabbling, short-term pleasure of impurity, then great advance will be made in the war against impurity. The desire for impurity has been pushed out by the superior pleasure of seeing God.

    John Piper often refers to this “expulsive power of a new affection”, the quote originally coming from Puritan writer Thomas Chalmers. The way to not be so tempted by a wrong desire is to have a newer, stronger one take its place, namely, a desire for something of Christ to be seen as more satisfying.

  4. I think that joy-based repentance is that which we give gladly to God and walk away from. I used to have a horrid shopping addiction. When I finally decided I needed to turn my budget over to the Lord, he took my compulsion to shop away — immediately and cleanly. It was truly amazing, and every time I think of it my spirit dances in joy and my heart swells with gratitude.

  5. I looked around and found this. I hope I can find time from the tight schedule I am having this term because I am thinking of joining. Wonderful, very good meme.

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.