The Week In Words

Welcome to The Week In Words, where we share quotes from the last week’s reading. If something you read this past week  inspired you, caused you to laugh, cry, think, dream, or just resonated with you in some way, please share it with us, attributing it to its source, which can be a book, newspaper, blog, Facebook — anything that you read. More information is here.

Here are some that caught my eye this week:

This was from a comment bekah made on Janet‘s Week In Words post from last week:

Nothing in you that has not died will ever be raised from the dead. C. S. Lewis. Mere Christianity

I think of this as not just the physical resurrection when our bodies die, but the resurrection power and newness of life that can only come in conjunction with dying to self. We tend to like and want the resurrection part but dread the death that has to precede it, yet there is no resurrection without death.

From Diane:

It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men. Frederick Douglass (1818-1895)

From Quill Cottage:

A stiff apology is a second insult…. The injured party does not want to be compensated because he has been wronged; he wants to be healed because he has been hurt. — G.K. Chesterton

From a friend’s Facebook:

“The real art of conversation is not only to say the right thing at the right place but to leave unsaid the wrong thing at the tempting moment.” – Dorothy Nevill

From another friend’s Facebook:

My hope lives not because I am not a sinner, but because I am a sinner for whom Christ died; my trust is not that I am holy, but that being unholy, He is my righteousness. My faith rests not upon what I am or shall be or feel or know, but in what Christ is, in what He has done and in what He is now doing for me. Hallelujah! –Charles Spurgeon

Hallelujah, indeed, and amen!

And finally, from today’s reading of Our Daily Walk by F. B. Meyer, this is commenting on John 10:41 and 42, which says, “Many resorted unto Him, and said, John did no miracle: but all things John spake of this Man were true. And many believed on Him there” and the fact that many disparaged John because he did no miracles, yet his witness of Christ was the hallmark of his life and ministry:

Do not try to do a great thing, or you may waste all your life waiting for the opportunity which may never come. But since little things are always claiming your attention, do them as they come from a great motive, for the glory of God and to do good to men. No such action, however trivial, goes without the swift recognition and the ultimate recompense of Christ.

If you’ve read anything that particularly spoke to you that you’d like to share, please either list it in the comments below or write a post on your blog and then put the link to that post (not your general blog link) in Mr. Linky below. I do ask that only family-friendly quotes be included.

8 thoughts on “The Week In Words

  1. Pingback: WiW: The Happiness of Love « bekahcubed

  2. All good. Spurgeon quotes always make me slow down or I’ll miss the excellency of what he’s saying.

    “A stiff apology is a second insult…. The injured party does not want to be compensated because he has been wronged; he wants to be healed because he has been hurt. — G.K. Chesterton”

    I must read Chesterton in full sometimes. I’ve never attempted a full-length work of his; intimidates me. I love his bite-sized quotes though. Always good food for thought.

    I love your last quote too about doing little things. That’s what most of my life has to be about, or I would not do anything if I only waited for the “big” things.

    Thanks for collecting such good stuff again, Barbara. I’m always blessed by this.

  3. ALL great words to think on. That last one reminds me of that quote I commented here from Mother Theresa not long ago. We really CAN’T wait to do the BIG thing… God may never CALL us to do a BIG thing. OR the BIG thing may end up being some little thing we didn’t even think twice about. Just DO something… that’s my motto!

  4. I think I like (or am most convicted by?) the Chesterton and Nevill ones best. So much wisdom out there on taming the tongue, if only we’ll take it to heart.

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.