What’s On Your Nightstand: August

What's On Your NightstandThe folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the fourth Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read. You can learn more about it by clicking the link or the button.

Can it be the last Thursday in August already?! I haven’t found my calendar in all the unpacking yet, so I was caught off guard. I didn’t realize it was time for a Nightstand post until I started visiting other blogs.

I had finished two books just before last month’s nightstand post but had not reviewed them yet, and I was able to do so this month. My review of Chosen Ones by Alister E. McGrath (youth fantasy) is here and The Cambridge Seven by John Pollock is here.

Books completed in August were:

A Matter of Character by Robin Lee Hatcher, reviewed here.

Prints Charming by Rebeca Seitz, not reviewed — mixed emotions on that one from the standpoint of marriage being based on feelings rather than commitments in it.

Maid to Match by Deeanne Gist, reviewed here.

Hoping for Something Better: Refusing to Settle for Life as Usual, a Bible study by Nancy Guthrie — plan to review it soon.

I also finished The Unfinished Gift by Dan Walsh and immediately started on its sequel, The Homecoming, but I think I will review them together. I am enjoying them so far.

I am also still working on Faithful Women and Their Extraordinary God by Noel Piper.

Waiting on my nightstand are Her Mother’s Hope by Francine Rivers, Here Burns My Candle by Liz Curtis Higgs, 50 People Every Christian Should Know: Learning From Spiritual Giants of the Faith by Warren Wiersbe, The Note by Angela Hunt, The Pirate Queen by Patricia Hickman, and A Distant Melody by Sarah Sundin.

What are you reading?

9 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: August

  1. That 50 people Christians ought to know by Wiersbe sounds interesting. I love Wiersbe. My spiritual parents knew him personally while they were being supported by Moody church as missionaries in Africa.

  2. Warren Wiersbe is fast becoming one of my favorite Christian resource writers. I have With the Word, and three of his Bible Studies. I will have to look into Learning From Spiritual Giants of the Faith as well.

  3. Did you read “The Pirate Queen”? I’d love to know what you thought of it. I have to admit, I didn’t love it.

    I thought the character development was shallow, and I had little patience for either Saphora or her husband.

    But I am giving away a copy of the book, if anyone is interested.

    You can read my book review and enter to win at ‘The Pirate Queen’ – and a giveaway.

    And if you’ve read the book, I’d love to know what you think!

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.