Book Review: Chosen Ones

I won Chosen Ones, the first book in the Aedyn Chronicles by Alister McGrath, from Quilly‘s contest (thank you again, Quilly!)

The book is youth fiction, targeted for ages 9-12, but I think readers beyond that age group would enjoy it.

The story involves two young teen-age siblings who go to visit their grandparents and discover a portal to a mysterious world in their grandparents’ back yard, and in this new world — or, actually a very old world — things seem to be very wrong: what was once a beautiful place is in ruins and people are enslaved by a trio of evils lords, and these young people who stumble into it are surprised to discover that they are apparently the chosen ones who are supposed to do something about it.

Sound familiar? Yes, it is similar in many ways to the Narnia series, though I don’t believe McGrath intended to copy C. S. Lewis: there are just similar elements in this genre. In fact, at first I was a little bored because it didn’t seem original, but after the young people, Peter and Julia, got involved in their particular quest, I was drawn into the story.

Readers familiar with Biblical history will recognize the allegorical content: Marcus representing Moses, the Day of Remembrance with its special feast symbolizing the Passover, etc.

Though the book doesn’t have the scope and breadth and depth of Narnia, but it is shorter and very readable and a good story in itself. Besides the particular quest the young people face, I liked the character development and their growth through the particular hurdles they had to face.

There are places that could have used a little more “umph” (I would have expected more of a crisis of confidence with a “I’m just a kid, what do they expect from me?!” moment), and a couple of things that didn’t makes sense to me (one was a “talent” that Julia discovers which she can’t seem to summon at will but which seems to come when needed, I can see some spiritual parallels there).

But overall I am happy to recommend the book. If you read it, please come back to let me know what you think.

You can get a peek inside at several pages of the book here. I loved the cover art by illustrator Voytek Nowakowski and the “old world” feel to the pages and illustrations.

(This review will be linked to Semicolon‘s Saturday Review of Books.)

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Chosen Ones

  1. Oh, congratulations for winning this book! I remember wanting to catch your thoughts on this one so I’m glad you posted a follow up review.

    I think I have mixed thoughts towards it at present, but it’s good to know more about it!

  2. Barbara — I totally agree that this book doesn’t have the breadth and scope of the Narnia series, but I did enjoy the story. I thought this might be an easier read for the children who struggle with the vocabulary in the Narnia series.

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.