“Fret not thyself because of evildoers”

I am both a Christian and a conservative, and consequently I am not always happy about the state of affairs in our country (though I suppose non-Christians and liberals could say the same thing). But I don’t usually appreciate forwarded e-mails from good people whose position on an issue I might agree with but whose tone is angry or despairing.

I came across a truth in Our Daily Walk by F. B. Meyer for today’s reading which I wish I could send to them all:

You will not remove the evils of the world by all your anxiety, or by wrath.

To put that sentence in context, he was commenting on Psalm 37, especially verses 1-8, and his whole paragraph reads:

The Psalmist says: “Do not fret. Evil is transient, evil-doers shall be cut off, in a little while the wicked shall not be.” You will not remove the evils of the world by all your anxiety, or by wrath. It is not worth while to lose your peace of mind. Be quiet in your heart, full of prayer, looking up to God that He would interpose to deliver.

You can find the rest of his devotional for today by going here and scrolling down to June 8.

Rest in the LORD, and wait patiently for him: fret not thyself because of him who prospereth in his way, because of the man who bringeth wicked devices to pass. Psalm 37:7.

That doesn’t mean passivity or stoicism. In our particular culture we do have a voice, and we can let it be heard by voting and writing to our elected officials, newspaper editors, executives in the entertainment industry, etc., about those issues with which we’re concerned. But we need to deal with the issue or problem and not attack or demean the person. And we need to remember our ultimate hope is in God, not men. Only He can change hearts. And whatever is going on in the outside world, by His grace we can live the way He wants us to. Historically some of Christianity’s best moments were when the world was totally against it.

It is better to trust in the LORD than to put confidence in man. Psalm 118:8.

6 thoughts on ““Fret not thyself because of evildoers”

  1. Barbara… very well said, my friend. It grieves me to see people especially other believers demeaning and insulting our leaders. We are commended in scripture to pray for them and not to “join with the rebellious.” We are to be at peace because we know that our Lord put these individuals in power and that “He controls their heart like a watercourse wherever He wills.” Many of the same folks who were incensed at criticism of President Bush are turning around and speaking even worse things about our current president. Obviously it is easier to treat our leaders with respect when they agree with our personal views… it’s harder when we feel they are in the wrong. But it is still the right thing to do♥

  2. I couldn’t agree more, Barbara! Ever since the last presidential election, I have heard more alarm and anger than ever over how events are shaping up in the US and the world. I can’t help but wonder how saved people can justify some of the horrible things they are saying against the current president, and why they are so worried over current events. We know from Scripture that we are in the end times and that things will get bad, but the very ones who have been crying out “Even so, come Lord Jesus” are the ones who are fighting tooth and nail against the events that indicate His coming is near. All that to say – why worry and fret when we know Who is in control? Speak up for what is right, but don’t get angry or depressed when things don’t go our way – Jesus is on the way!

  3. I speak my Christian beliefs without pointing fingers and cursing someone else’s. If I fall into the pattern of anger, finger-pointing and berating everyone in my path if they entertain thoughts/ideas/actions that are contrary to Christ, then I come off looking like a radical lunatic and nobody listens. Quiet words and righteous living goes much further to promote God’s kingdom.

  4. Good thoughts.

    I think I’ve probably become somewhat of an annoyance in political discussions because when the conversation goes just a bit too far into self-pitying and despair for our nation, I’m always interjecting: “But don’t forget that God is sovereign, EVEN in this.”

  5. Pingback: Retrospective Stray Thoughts « Stray Thoughts

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.