The Week In Words

Welcome to The Week In Words, where we share quotes from the last week’s reading. If something you read this past week  inspired you, caused you to laugh, cry, think, dream, or just resonated with you in some way, please share it with us, attributing it to its source, which can be a book, newspaper, blog, Facebook — anything that you read. More information is here

This is from A Lamp For My Feet by Elisabeth Elliot as seen in the e-mail Elisabeth Elliot devotionals:

To listen to one word and go out and obey it is better than having the most exalted “religious experience.” “The man who has received my commands and obeys them–he it is who loves me: and he who loves me will be loved by my Father; and I will love him and disclose myself to him” (Jn 14:21). There is the order: hear, do, know.

This Hudson Taylor quote was seen on a friend’s Facebook status:

“Let us give of our work, our thoughts, our plans, ourselves, our lives, our loved ones, all unto His hands. When you have given all to God, there will be nothing left for you to be troubled about.”

I was going to include Memorial Day quotes here but then decided to put them in a separate post.

Please leave a link to your family-friendly quotes for today below so other participants can read them. Have a good Memorial Day! I’m not sure what ours will be like. We’re having a thunderstorm right now and I have a bear of a cold. I plan on sleeping as much as needed!

3 thoughts on “The Week In Words

  1. Pingback: The Week in Words-MY inagural post « bekahcubed

  2. Elisabeth Elliot’s quote is convicting — how succinctly she has put words to the truth of obedience to God…

    Hudson Taylor’s is especially inspiring.

    Thanks for sharing, Barbara.

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.