Book Review: The Telling

The Telling is the last  in the Seasons of Grace series by Beverly Lewis about an Amish wife and mother who suddenly and inexplicably leaves her family. Over the last two books, the family has dealt with practical and emotional ramifications of her absence and discovered a couple of clues as to where she might be while the mother, Lettie, searches for a way to make peace with her past. Lettie’s daughter, Grace, receives permission from her father to go to the last known place Lettie has been to try to find her, and her Englisher friend, Heather, offers to drive her there.

Meanwhile Lettie has gone as far as she can to try to set things right and determines she must go home and confess to her family and church, wondering all the while if they will receive and forgive her.

Heather deals with a course of holistic treatment for her cancer and some unexpected information about her own past.

Grace must continue to deal with the impact of her mother’s absence and then the consequences of her return while trying to be a friend to Heather and wondering what to do about the seeming interest of a young man named Yonnie.

I enjoyed this book very much and was well satisfied with the ending, even while seeing it coming. Various aspects of repentance, forgiveness, and grace are shown in  by each of the characters involved. It will be a little sad to leave these characters behind now.

(This review will be linked to Semicolon’s Saturday Review of Books.)

7 thoughts on “Book Review: The Telling

  1. I wonder if I’ve read that book under a different cover. Those names and that story sound awfully familiar… but the book does not LOOK familiar at all. I did read many Beverly Lewis books years ago… is this an older one or a new one?

  2. I’ve been wanting to read these books but wanted to have all of them out before I started. I hate waiting for the next in a series. I like to read them all back to back.

  3. I love Beverly Lewis books. I check them out at the library…but unfortunately everyone else does too!
    Concerning your comment on my recent post…my daughter did the same thing at the store while I was picking out ‘those’ things, only her comment was a little more graphic and a little too loud if you know what I mean! EMBARRASSing!

  4. Pingback: What’s On Your Nightstand? « Stray Thoughts

  5. Pingback: Spring Reading Thing Wrap-Up « Stray Thoughts

  6. Pingback: Saturday Review of Books: May 22, 2010 | Semicolon

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.