Parting the Waters

I first read Jeanne Damoff when someone (I’m sorry, I forgot to note who) linked to her articles “How fiction can powerfully inform the practical application of truth,” part one and part two. Both her insights and her writing style resonated with me. Since these articles were part of a writer’s blog called The Master’s Artist, I clicked around to see what else she had written.

I discovered her book Parting the Waters: Finding Beauty in Brokenness about her then fifteen-year old son’s near drowning. Such an accident is the stuff of parents’ nightmares. Jeanne takes us from the day before the accident, when unbeknownst to them at the time, they had their last “normal” conversation for a long while, straight into the events of the next day — hearing the startling news that one boy on a class outing had died and that Jacob was in the hospital, having been underwater for several minutes and then receiving CPR for twenty minuted before reviving.

After the first few weeks, the Damoffs were told that Jacob would likely remain in a persistent vegetative state. But doctors and friends continued to work with him, trusting that God would have the last say. I rejoiced right along with the family at Jacob’s first movement, first laugh, first weeping, first words.

Jeanne is transparent and truthful about all of the issues involved as well as the wrestling of her own heart, trusting that God was in control yet struggling with why He allowed this to happen. Early on she wrote:

I saw God’s mercy in the timing [at the beginning of summer, when their teaching responsibilities were over], and the thought upset me. Why did God time this at all? Even in these earliest hours of uninvited, undesired affliction, I feared for the potential damage to our faith and begged God to preserve it. We didn’t understand His plan, but we knew we couldn’t endure this hell without Him.

Yet all throughout the pain and struggle, many different people remarked that something beautiful and unusual characterized the whole situation: they could see the grace of God in action through provision of different items or just the right person, through the family’s, friends’, and community’s interaction and support.

Not only is the story compelling and inspiring, but I love how Jeanne has organized the chapters around a theme, with titles like, “A Pebble Falls,” “First Ripples,” “Breakers,” Deep Waters,” “Stormy Winds, “Undercurrents,” etc., with verses at the beginning of each, such as Isaiah 43:1-2a (But now, thus says the LORD, your Creator, O Jacob, And He who formed you, O Israel, “Do not fear, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by name; you are Mine! When you pass through the waters, I will be with you;And through the rivers, they will not overflow you.”) and Psalm 42:5a,7b (Why are you in despair, O my soul? And why have you become disturbed within me?…All Your breakers and Your waves have rolled over me.)

At the back of the book are two appendices: one contains thoughts and testimonials from others involved in the story, and the other deals with “God’s Purposes in Suffering.”

I am so thankful Jeanne shared their story with us.

(This review will be linked to Semicolon‘s Saturday Review of Books.)

6 thoughts on “Parting the Waters

  1. Barbara! Barbara! Barbara! WHAT am I gonna DO with you? This book is going in my cart… but I don’t know HOW I’m gonna find time to read it… you and Quilly are killin’ me… I’m going to have to give up blogging … and LIFE… and just read! 🙂

  2. Great post, Barbara.

    I know what you mean about those fabrics I just got in. I had seen the swatch images on the computer, but they are much more beautiful in person!

  3. Pingback: What’s On Your Nightstand: March « Stray Thoughts

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.