Why hear a missionary presentation?

What do you think when you hear that a missionary will be speaking at your church? Are you disappointed that you won’t hear the pastor? Or excited about a change of pace? Are you tempted to stay home because it is “just a missionary” after all? Or looking forward to dozing off during the video?

A few weeks ago a young lady spoke at our women’s meeting about her summer on a mission field, and I was blessed in so many ways even beyond just hearing what the Lord did that summer that I made a list of some of the blessings we can glean as missionaries present their work. Our church is having a Missions Conference this week, so it seemed like a good time to revisit these thoughts and post them.

1. Jesus told His disciples to “Lift up your eyes, and look on the fields” (John 4:35b), and hearing a missionary presentation is one good way to obey that command.

2. We can see more fields than we could possibly visit in person.

3. Our hearts are stirred for the lost.

4. We are stirred to contribute both by prayer and giving.

5. We’re stirred to come alongside and help the missionary in his or her ministry.

6. It’s educational: we learn of other cultures from those who have actually experienced them.

7. We’re stirred up to serve the Lord in our own areas of ministry.

8. Our faith is encouraged as we see God’s hand at work in the lives of ordinary people who have stepped out in faith and yielded themselves to Him, and we are encouraged to do likewise.

9. Our faith is encouraged as we see God’s provision for funds, supplies, abilities.

10. Our hearts are knit together with brethren we might never meet in this life. We get to know our spiritual relatives whom we will meet some day in heaven.

11. We’re called to be willing to be used in whatever way God might see fit in the mission field He has for each of us, possibly even an overseas one.

How about you? How do you feel about missionary presentations?

6 thoughts on “Why hear a missionary presentation?

  1. I actually really like missionary presentations. It take me out of a “just us four and no more” mentality which easily creeps in if we let it. It shows me what goes on in the world around me with people needing to be reached by the love of God.

  2. My denomination classifies me as an evangelist. As such, I am expected to speak as often as possible about my ministry. My experience supports everyone of your points. In fact, more often then not if I speak at a church not my own, it does little to stimulate money for my ministry*, but boosts the involvement in the ministries of my home church.

    *Nine-out-of-ten of my speaking engagements is not about boosting money, but promoting involvement in children’s ministries. The children are our future.

  3. I LOVE hearing missionaries speak! How else are we supposed to know what is needed out in the world and how we might be able to help? I don’t think God has an overseas trip planned for me in the immediate future … but perhaps one day…. maybe when I’m old and graaaaaaay… But for now He seems to find enough to keep me involved in!

  4. I think the reason most folks are not enthusiastic when a missionary speaks is because it goes on so long. Studies show that twenty minutes is as long as most people will willingly listen.

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.