Booking Through Thursday: Memorable Books Meme

btt button

The weekly Booking Through Thursday question for today is

I saw this over at Shelley’s, and thought it sounded like a great question for all of you:

“This can be a quick one. Don’t take too long to think about it. Fifteen books you’ve read that will always stick with you. First fifteen you can recall in no more than 15 minutes.”

1. The Bible
2. By Searching by Isobel Kuhn
3. In the Arena by Isobel Kuhn
4. Climbing by Rosalind Goforth
5. Amy Carmichael of Dohnavur by Frank Houghton
6. Changed Into His Image by Jim Berg
7. David Copperfield by Charles Dickens
8. A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens
9. A Path Through Suffering by Elisabeth Elliot
10. Little House on the Prairie series by Laura Ingalls Wilder
11. Anne of Green Gables series by Lucy Maud Montgomery
12. Lord of the Rings series by J. R. R. Tolkien
13. Narnia series by C. S. Lewis
14. Rose From Brier by Amy Carmichael
15. Through Gates of Splendor by Elisabeth Elliot

It was hard to stop at 15, and on another day the list would vary a little, but overall these are books that have deeply influenced my thinking and that I go back to time and time again, either rereading or thinking about something I read there.

Feel free to join in and use this as a meme whether you particpate in Booking Through Thursday or not, but if you’d like to see what others listed, check today’s post there.

12 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Memorable Books Meme

  1. so interesting- we had none of the same books on our lists! that surprised me, as i think we generally have a lot in common. i think we’d have lots of lively discussions;)

  2. Ohhhhh good GRIEF! NOTHING sticks with me! Let me see… I doubt I can come up with 15… but I’ll try!

    1. The Bible
    2. The Thorn Birds – Colleen McCullough
    3. Of Mice and Men – John Steinbeck
    4. Winnie The Pooh – AA Milne
    5. Romeo & Juliet – Shakespeare
    6. The Chamber – John Grisham
    7. The Mitford Series – Jan Karon
    8. MacBeth – Shakespeare
    9. Living the Extraordinary Life – Charles Stanley
    10. If You Want to Walk on Water, You’ve Got to Get Out of the Boat – John Ortberg
    11. The Prophet – Kahlil Gibran
    12. The Copper Beech – Maeve Binchey
    13. The Clan of the Cave Bear series – Jean M. Aul
    14. The Cat Who series – Lillian Jackson Braun
    15. He Chose the Nails – Max Lucado

    Okay! I did it! Have I been here 15 minutes yet? Probly! LOL!

  3. What a great list. So many I’ve never heard of on there. I think I just might do this sometime next week. It’s interesting to see what books touch people.

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.