What’s On Your Nightstand: April

What's On Your Nightstand
The folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the last Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and plan to read. You can learn more about it by clicking the link or the button.

I was surprised at first to find that I had not participated in this since January, but then I remembered that was primarily because I was still in the unabridged Les Miserables and  To the Golden Shore all those months and didn’t want to just keep listing the same books.

I did finally finish Les Miserables and reviewed it here. I am still working on classic missionary biography To the Golden Shore by Courtney Anderson about Americas’ first missionary, Adoniram Judson. I just recently started In Trouble and In Joy: Four Women Who Lived for God by Sharon James, a collection of short biographies and writing excerpts of four women: Margaret Baxter, wife of Puritan preacher Richard Baxter; Sarah Edwards, wife of Jonathan Edwards; Anne Steele and Frances Ridley Havergal, both hymn writers. Anne was the only one I knew nothing about before the book. I’ve only just started it within the last week or so, so it is too early to have much of an opinion on it yet.

I read The Centurion’s Wife by Janette Oke and Davis Bunn but haven’t had a chance to review it yet. It is set during the time just after the crucifixion and resurrection of Christ, about a young woman, Leah, who is a servant to Pilate’s wife, sent out by her mistress to find out more about Christ’s followers and their intentions. She is betrothed against her will to a centurion who is sent out by Pilate on the same mission. It took me a while to get into the book, but overall I enjoyed it. I hadn’t specifically planned to read it just after Easter, the same time frame as the book, but that’s when I happened to start it, and it added a nice dimension to enter into their experiences around the same season as the setting of the book.

I also completed Passionate Housewives Desperate For God by Jennie Chauncey and Stacy McDonald, a book primarily encouraging stay-at-home wives and mothers. Overall it was good, but there were a couple of things I wouldn’t agree with quite 100% the way they were presented. More on that when I am able to review it.

I also read the last of the Four Seasons of Marriage books by Palmer and Chapman, Winter Turns to Spring.

I am not sure which of the books on my Spring Reading Thing list I will pick up next, but I would like to go through some of the Christian fiction books I have listed there.

I have also been consistently reading a daily devotional book titled Our Daily Walk by F. B. Meyer. I am convinced it is the devotional book for me for this year. It has ministered to me greatly and I have quoted from it several times here.

You can join in sharing what’s on your nightstand or see others’ entries here.

13 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: April

  1. IN TROUBLE AND IN JOY looks really good. I think I’ll order that. Right now I have David McCullough’s 1776 here to read, as well as a good book I got at the Wilds. But it may be summer until I get to really reading!

    Sometime I need you to tell me what you’re supposed to do to do one of these “officially.” This has inspired me to do a post about what I’m reading or will be reading soon – have two books coming in the mail right now – but if you use someone’s meme idea, aren’t you supposed to link to them somehow?

    Thanks! BTW, glad your luncheon went so well. Wonderful theme. I like things like that especially when they have a theme like you used – something with such great depth.

  2. I’ve not been reading anything but my Bible, of late, because I don’t really have time for anything else now that Jaylon is here. *smile* but I’m not complaining! I see that Beverly Lewis has new books out so I may have to look for those at the library!

  3. Sounds like a good deal of reading. Have you ever read any of Davis Bunn’s other books. He has some under T. Davis Bunn. Also, another Christian writer I like is Robert Winslow.
    I enjoy the Jennette Oake movies but the books would be much too short for me. My daugher read them when she was a teenager and now my nieces are reading them.
    There are certain authors I read every book they write. I don’t usually have a reading list, just a stack of books from Daugher, book store and used books from the Friends bookstore.
    Normally I alternate an easy, light book with a more technical, legal, or era book which takes longer.
    Blessings,
    Mama Bear

  4. Beth got The Centurion’s Wife from the library a few months back, and I tried to read it but never could get into it. Beth loved it, so I’m looking forward to your review. Maybe I’ll check it out again.

    I’m also looking forward to your review of Passionate Housewives Desperate for God. I read a blog post last year sometime by a lady who refused to read it because it was so close to the name of a TV show that is notoriously wicked. Her premise was that the author had compromised from the beginning by using a “worldly” name for the book, so she was sure she had nothing good to say. So I want to see what you have to say! 🙂

  5. Ann, if you’re doing just a general post about what you’re reading, you don’t need to link to the meme originator. But if you’re using their format, button, title, etc., then you do.

    This particular one occurs the last Thursday of every month.

  6. Pingback: What's on Your Nightstand — April

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.