Booking Through Thursday: Collectibles

btt button

The weekly Booking Through Thursday question for today is:

  • Hardcover? Or paperback?
  • Illustrations? Or just text?
  • First editions? Or you don’t care?
  • Signed by the author? Or not?

Mostly I just collect what I like to read, in whatever format. I like the idea of first editions, but not enough to pay the extra price. Books signed by the author are nice, too, and I have a few, but I don’t really seek them out. Most of my biographies, Christian fiction, and Christian non-fiction are paperback because most are easily available that way — some might be in hardback but would be harder to find. I do like the classics I’ve collected to be hardback, and most of them are. It just seems more…classic. Plus I would like to pass them on to my children: though currently none of them are really interested in the classics, maybe some day their wives or children might like them. Illustrations? In general it just depends on the particular book. I think most of my classics are pretty much just plain text; some have drawings at the beginnings of chapters. There is one I bought, though, for the illustrations even though I already had a copy, and that’s Little Women, one of my all-time favorites. I saw this one in a bookstore in the mall (which, sadly, all seem to have gone out of business, at least here locally, and I miss them), and it reminded me of the types of books I used to read when I was young. The cover is gorgeous, and it has many colored illustrations inside.

Little Women book cover

Little Women book inside

I’d love for at least all of my children’s classics to look like this. It might be a bit daunting to a child, though, as it is a pretty thick book — about 3 “, due to the larger type as well as the illustrations. But I do have dreams of reading this with a granddaughter some day.

9 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Collectibles

  1. What a lovely book–and I agree, it looks like some of the classics I had as a child. I really do like pictures in my children’s books.
    Happy btt!
    Kim

  2. I agree with you on practically every point! And I do think its nice when children’s classics look appealing enough to draw readers in. What a great edition you found there!

  3. Oh I love Little Women ! One of my favorite book but it been an aweful long times since I read it. I may want to do re-read on that again. The picture from that book look really beautifull and shiny!

    I would love to pass my favorite books to my children someday too. Although I don’t have children now, I just hope that when I do, my children have the love of reading as much as I do.

    Thanks for visiting and commenting my blog. I wish you a great Thursday!

  4. Hi Barbara, I like the idea of keeping books for the future generation. I’m more of a paperback person mainly because they’re easier to carry around. I read virtually everywhere…

  5. Little Women is one of my absolute favorites also! And those are LOVELY illustrations. I wonder though if the things we store and treasure will EVER be appreciated by our OWN children or grandchildren? I can already hear my kids saying “That old junk? Toss it! Those old books? Garbage!” and then some antique collector finding them in the dump and selling them for way more than they’re worth! LOL! (ooooh… am I being a bit cynical tonight?)

    I do have a few books that I’m still hanging on to — but for the most part, I have given away most of my classics. I gave them to the library – so HOPEFULLY they will be enjoyed by many…

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.