Whose life is it, anyway?

It’s interesting how God brings something to my attention just as I need it. I had just been chafing under an area of service to another, a particularly minor service, when Michelle’s post about serving the Lord with gladness convicted me. That led me to thinking about serving one another in love. Then last night in Joy and Strength I read the following:

Let every one of us please his neighbor for his good.
ROMANS 15:2

Let us consider one another.
HEBREWS 10:24

LOOK around you, first in your own family, then among your friends and neighbors, and see whether there be not some one whose little burden you can lighten, whose little cares you may lessen, whose little pleasures you can promote, whose little wants and wishes you can gratify. Giving up cheerfully our own occupations to attend to others, is one of the little kindnesses and self-denials. Doing little things that nobody likes to do, but which must be done by some one, is another. It may seem to many, that if they avoid little unkindnesses, they must necessarily be doing all that is right to their family and friends; but it is not enough to abstain from sharp words, sneering tones, petty contradiction, or daily little selfish cares; we must be active and earnest in kindness, not merely passive and inoffensive.

There is no author listed for the quote: under it is just “LITTLE THINGS, 1852.”

Selfish as I am, I have to be frequently reminded my life is not my own. It’s His, and often serving others is serving Him.

Be ye therefore followers of God, as dear children; And walk in love, as Christ also hath loved us, and hath given himself for us an offering and a sacrifice to God for a sweetsmelling savour. Ephesians 5:1-2.

5 thoughts on “Whose life is it, anyway?

  1. That’s good.
    So many times we overlook the little things, and there are many, because they’re seemingly inconsequential. Your thoughts make me want to be more aware of those things.

  2. Yes it is sometimes easier to abstain from doing something wrong than it is to actually do something nice for someone!

    I find that is really true for me. I do find it is easier if I give myself “margin” room. If I plan little spaces so I don’t get too stressed—-ie what I call mini-vacations in the day–like a strong cup of tea and sitting quietly for a few moments. Listing to a good audio book as I drive to visit someone. Listening to an audio book as I do dishes and clean the kitchen, etc.

  3. Barbara,

    Thanks for stopping by for a visit. I love the quote you posted. It is often hard to be a cheerful giver when we are giving up what we perceive as “me time”. This is a great reminder for me.

  4. Pingback: Myths and Maxims of Ministry | Stray Thoughts

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.