What’s On Your Nighstand?

What's On Your Nightstand
The folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the last Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and plan to read. You can learn more about it by clicking the link or the button. This month’s participants are here.

I just posted about the books I finished reading for the Fall Into Reading Challenge a few days ago, so I won’t list all those again here. I do have several books waiting to curl up with me on some of those long winter nights ahead:

I am currently reading @ Home for the Holidays with the same characters from SAHM I Am by Meredith Efken about a group of stay-at-home moms who stay in touch via an e-mail loop as well as the complete unabridged Les Miserables by Victor Hugo. I’m on page 366 of this 1,463 page book.

Also in the queue, not necessarily in this order:

Every Now and Then by Karen Kingsbury

Thread of Deceit by Catherine Palmer

To the Golden Shore by Courtney Anderson about Americas’ first missionary, Adoniram Judson. I have read it before but wanted to revisit it.

American Haven by Elisabeth Yates. I gad mentioned somewhere a book I had read as a child about a girl named Merry from England, but I couldn’t remember the title or author, and Sally mentioned this might be it.

Dr. Frau: A Woman Doctor Among the Amish by Grace H. Kaiser.

What Women Wish You Knew About Dating: A Single Guy’s Guide to Romantic Relationships by Stephen W. Simpson. Having sons in or coming up to the age of dating, this caught my eye. When I saw it reviewed at Deena‘s, one of the incidents mentioned sounded a lot like one son, so I thought I’d check it out before recommending it.

Plain Perfect by Beth Wiseman.

Falling For You Again and Winter Turns to Spring, the last two in the Four Seasons series dealing with marriage by Catherine Palmer and Gary Chapman.

The Heirloom by Colleen L. Reece and Julie Reece-DeMarco, just given to me by my friend, Carol.

No Place Like Home by Brad Williams.

The Centurion’s Wife by Davis Bunn and Janette Oke.

Hannah’s Hope: A Journey of Faith by Hope Houchins about Hannah Sobeski, a young woman with cancer who had lived in our state.

House Blend: Warm Stories From Your Favorite Authors.

Housewives Desperate For God by Jennie Chauncey and Stacy McDonald. This has been on my shelf for a long time.

Will I finish all these? Probably not. But they’ll wait for me. And looking at the stack of them is making want to lay everything aside and start reading! Can’t do it now, but soon….

Books to read

14 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nighstand?

  1. Per usual I want to read just about everything on your nightstand. My order for Housewives Desperate for God is on its way and I’m really excited to recieve it and get into it!

    Great list! MERRY CHRISTMAS to you!

  2. I keep my Blackberry on my Nightstand – it has a collection of around 200 eBooks at any given time, so I’m never short of reading material. My latest read is Shadows by Joan De La Haye (review to be posted on our site soon).

    Merry Christmas,
    Trevas

  3. I hope you are enjoying Les Miserables. I read an abridged version a long time ago and I’ve been entertaining the idea of trying the unabridged but so far I haven’t had the courage.

  4. Wow, what a stack! I have just ordered a couple of new ones from Amazon. The Book Club I joined here has its planning meeting in January for the year. Each member is to suggest a book or two. I have a whole list. I hope they choose one or two of them. Maybe I’ll do this meme in January if I don’t forget.

  5. Pingback: Friday’s Fave Five « Stray Thoughts

  6. Pingback: What’s on Your Nighstand: January « Stray Thoughts

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.