What’s on your nightstand?

What's On Your Nightstand
The folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the last Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and plan to read. You can learn more about it by clicking the link or the button: the participants for this month are linking here.

I am 3/8″ (264 pages) through my 2″ thick (1,463 pages) copy of Les Miserables by Victor Hugo.

Thick book!

I had read a couple of different abridged versions, but I had wanted to read the complete unabridged version. I am enjoying it. There are places where it is a bit tedious and sections that are more drawn out than a modern reader would generally like, but there are moments of sheer beauty and times when I’ve read several pages without realizing it. I am looking forward to reviewing it — whenever I get done with it.

I’ve finished six out of the ten books on my Fall Into Reading list, but I am veering off course now. I’ve never specifically read Christmas books during the Christmas season before until last year, but I really enjoyed that. I was in the Christian bookstore Saturday and saw a whole shelf of Christmas books, many on sale. So I picked up All I Have to Give by Melody Carlson, which I’ve just started, A Merry Little Christmas which is a compilation of two novellas, one by Catherine Palmer and one by victorian-christmasJillian Hart, and A Victorian Christmas: Sentiments and Sounds of a Bygone Era. Isn’t it a pretty book? It has a CD in it that I’ve not listened to yet. Then I just remembered recently I had a copy of @ Home for the Holidays with the same characters from SAHM I Am by Meredith Efken about a group of women who stay in touch via an e-mail loop. I picked it up on a clearance table earlier in the year and decided to save it for the holidays.

And then I really wanted to reread To the Golden Shore by Courtney Anderson about America’s first missionary, Adoniram Judson, before the Fall Into Reading Challenge ended Dec.22.

So it looks like I’ll be plenty busy!

14 thoughts on “What’s on your nightstand?

  1. GO! GO! GO! I am cheering you on through that 2 inch book! If I were to get out a tape measure to measure the STACK of books on my night stand/side chair/oh good grief they’re everywhere! … it would be 8 feet high and spilling over. I need to quit blogging and just read and read and read for about 2 years! So, yea… I’m cheering you!

  2. YAY YOU on Les Mis. I love your pictures as well. That’s awesome.

    I know you’ve read it before. How it is the second time around? Better? I just read it myself last year but am contemplating a reread.

  3. You have a great list. Good for you reading Les Miserables! I have never before read Christmas time books at Christmas but this year I am reading A Christmas Carol. 🙂 Have fun reading 🙂

  4. Way to go, Barbara! I’m happy you’ve made good progress with the unabridged edition. I have it too but it’s broken into two volumes. I’ll be reading it next year for my “999 Challenge” 😀

  5. There was an article on the last page of an Oprah magazine I saw once with this title and I thought that would be a good meme. Not just the books, but the other things we think we have to have by our bed.
    You are very brave to read such a big book. 700 pages is big enough for me. It is too hard to hold in my hand. I usually like to read while I eat a sandwich in the other.
    Mama BEar

  6. Wow on your big Les Mis book, way to go! That is one of my all time favorite reads but I think maybe I’ve only done the abridged versions. I finished my Melody Carlson book, a Christmas one and enjoyed it. I think I’ve read another one of her chick lit ones and enjoyed it as well. Thanks for stopping by!

  7. Pingback: What's on Your Nightstand — November

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.