Odds and ends

I mentioned in my Fall Into Reading Challenge post that I had been wanting to reread Les Miserables by Victor Hugo. What I failed to mention is that I have been wanting to read an unabridged version. I’ve read two different abridged versions, and I wanted to read the whole thing. I ordered it from Amazon.com and got it a few days ago. It is a thick book!

Thick book!

1,463 pages! So this will keep me busy for a long while.

If you prefer listening to books rather than reading them, Focus on the Family Radio Theater has an excellent version here. It has been a long time since I heard it, but as I recall it was very moving. There is a brief sound clip there.

There has been some really good reading around the blogosphere lately:

Finally, Carolyn at Talk to Grams passed on to me this sweet award, which of which the originator says:

Many of you have touched my heart and life in ways that have changed me eternally! I thank you for being a faithful servant and being obedient to the upward calling every time you share a piece of His heart living out in you! I pray that you will share this award with others who have touched your heart by sowing seeds of love into your life! They will know we are His by how we love one another! Let us sow seeds of love throughout the blogging world and touch the hearts of those who come to read what we all share! To HIM be all the glory forever and ever! AMEN!

And Alice gave me the I Love Your Blog Award (a while back — forgive me for taking so long to acknowledge it!)

And also just today this Butterfly award:

Thank you so much, Alice and Carolyn!

Now here is my dilemma. Many people to whom I would love to pass these on just don’t “do” awards on their blogs. And so it ends up that I seem to pass awards on to the same people all the time, though that’s ok. And I am always afraid of leaving someone out or hurting feelings. So let’s just say if you read and comment here, please take the Faithful Servant award, because you are a blessing to me in that way. And I try to comment regularly, or at least occasionally, on the blogs I read, so if you have seen my comments on your blog, feel free to take the other two as well. I enjoy it or else I wouldn’t keep reading and commenting. ๐Ÿ™‚

And the final finally: the dreaded root canal is tomorrow. I feel much better than I did a week ago — praise the Lord for antibiotics!! I am looking forward to getting it over with.

Have a good day!!

9 thoughts on “Odds and ends

  1. Congratulations on your awards. I have two, but the first is new for me, and I happily accept it.

    I’ll pray for your (ahem) fun tomorrow.

    That book… better you than me. I recently finished a 500-page one; I loved it, but wow. I thought I’d never finish. You’re talking double!

  2. I’ve had several root canals and if you have the medication required they aren’t too bad.
    I just don’t believe i would attempt to read a book that long. Will you read it in segments with some lighter reading in between.
    I am almost through “Lady’s Maid” and I know I would not have read this if it wasn’t for book club. The protagonist is tiresome. I did enjoy learning more about Elizabeth Barret Browing. I really didn’t know anything about her. She was in her 40s before she met Robert and was an invalid most of her life. I’m not sure if this was all physical or more mental. I only have a few pages to go and then I think I’ll read the next one in Abram’s Daughters by Beverly Lewis.
    A Bride Most Beguiling was very good. I have another by the same author which I haven’t read yet. I liked the fact that it took place in the 1600s in the colonies.
    Yesterday, Wonder Boy asked me to read some in The Diary of Anne Frank to him. He had questions to answer and said the teacher told them it might be good if an adult read to them because of the big words and words we don’t use to describe things. I was happy to do this because I’ve never read this book. I think I will borrow it when he finishes. We discussed what I read. It amazes me how intuitive he is and how much he knows at 10 years. The last time I was there, he quizzed me on the state capitals and I am embrassed to say I didn’t know many of them.
    Mama Bear

  3. Hi! I am feeling much better so I am out visiting ! Thank you so much for your prayers for me!! I have another round to go!

    Praying all will be ok with you and your root canal tomorrow.

    I know what you mean about awards!! I think it is SO hard to pass them out that I hardly do it any more!! I did this one . But I feel terrible leaving people out that I just can’t stand it !!! On that happy note I will say good bye!! Smile
    Hugs ,Grams

  4. That’s a nice cover of the book you have, Barbara. The Les Miserables that I have was broken up into two volumes and together, they came to about the same thickness you mentioned here.

    You totally deserve all the rewards. Congrats! Will be praying, too, that all will go well for your root canal tomorrow.

  5. Congrats on your awards. You really do have an encouraging, interesting, fun blog.

    I know what you mean about awards… There aren’t that many I feel comfortable passing them on to either, becuse they usually confer an obligation of some kind. And like you, I appreciate everyone who visits and comments.

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.