Book Review: Home to Hart’s Crossing

I read Sweet Dreams Drive by Robin Lee Hatcher last year, not realizing at first it was the fourth book in a series about residents in a small town in Idaho. But earlier this year all four novellas in the series were released in one book, Home to Hart’s Crossing.

In the first book, Legacy Lane, Angela Hunter had left the town of Hart’s Crossing years before to pursue bigger and better things and to escape her mother’s urgings to come to faith in Christ. But after being passed over for a promotion in her job, she quits and offers to come take care of her mom after surgery. Her mother, Francine, has learned in the intervening years to wait on the Lord’s leading and trust Him to work in hearts all the while earnestly praying for them. So, though Angie approaches the return to her home town with some dread, the Lord has more in store for her than she could have imagined.

In Veteran’s Way, the second book, Jimmy Scott had moved away years before after going into the service. marrying, and raising a family. After his wife’s death he decides to return back to his family’s home in Hart’s Crossing. He unexpectedly crosses paths with his former high school sweetheart, Stephanie, who is also widowed after a 50-years marriage…and a relationship develops from there. They then have to convince their children that they are both in their right minds and in a relationship for all the right reasons. This was convicting to me, with my mother-in-law now living near us: there does come a time when parents are no longer able to make good decisions for themselves, but we wrestle maintaining her dignity and respecting her choices and desires as much as possible. Though Jimmy and Stephanie aren’t to that place yet and are fully functioning adults, seeing their adult children’s reactions through their eyes gave me a glimpse of some of the frustrations “seniors” face.

In Diamond Place, ten-year-old Lyssa Sampson has her heart set on pitching for her Little League team. When her coach doesn’t think she’s quite ready, she begins to think a little match-making between the coach and her mother might help her cause.

And, finally, in Sweet Dreams Drive, Al and Patti Bedford struggle with a lack of sleep caring for infant twins, mounting debt, and communication problems, all of which begin to wear on their marriage. I particularly liked the switching of the point of view between the two in the story which gave a glimpse of how differently the same situation looks from each side. I enjoyed that the resolution wasn’t one-sided, but each one had to change their thinking and focus and take steps to heal their relationship.

Another thing I liked about these books, personally, is that my husband is from Twin Falls, ID, which is mentioned in some of the stories. 🙂 The names of some of the other towns were also familiar to me.

The back of the book says that “Celebrating family, faith, and forgiveness, Home to Hart’s Crossing will warm your heart and soothe your spirit.” I found that to be quite true and really enjoyed these stories.

_______________________________________________________________
(In other news, I have a dreaded dentist’s appointment this afternoon in reference to the problems I’ve been mentioning this week. Actually last night another problem began, a recurring situation from one crown which doesn’t seem to be fitted right. I don’t know if that is the cause of all the other — this tooth wasn’t painful through all of this til last night — or maybe the other set it off. But I hope it can be taken care of quickly and easily. A pharmacist told me once “There’s no pain like tooth pain,” and I think I agree!)

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Home to Hart’s Crossing

  1. Pingback: Saturday Review of Books: October 18, 2008 at Semicolon

  2. Pingback: Fall Into Reading Challenge Wrap-Up « Stray Thoughts

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.