Strength for our duties

“Yet the duties God requires of us are not in proportion to the strength we possess in ourselves. Rather, they are proportional to the resources available to us in Christ. We do not have the ability in ourselves to accomplish the least of God’s tasks. This is a law of grace. When we recognize it is impossible for us to perform a duty in our own strength, we will discover the secret of its accomplishment. But alas, this is a secret we often fail to discover.”

John Owen

2 thoughts on “Strength for our duties

  1. Amen to that, Barbara. It is true. If I rely on my own strength – there is not much I can do. But with Him all things are possible.

    Thank you for sharing the wonderful quote.

    Have a blessed day in the Lord.

  2. Hi! It’s only today, when organizing my favorites list, did i re-discover the treasure that is your blog. Reading it, I a huge dose of “peace that passes all understanding” which is a huge blessing. This verse reminds me that God does give me things that I can’t handle–such as taking care of a son who has Down Syndrome and Autism–so I will turn to Him and trust Him to help me handle them, instead of trying to rely on my own strength. Thank you, thank you! And I prayed for your cellulitis to be healed as quickly as possible too. Thanks for your honesty–it’s a blessing! 🙂

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.