Biblical resolutions

I don’t usually make New Year’s resolutions any more — not the kind you forget about by March. When I think about them, they are things I need to be doing as a matter of course any way, and usually nothing new. Nevertheless I can see that it is good to sit down and take stock of life and see if there is anything that needs to change, and the beginning of a new year seems a good time to do that. I do like the idea of making goals.

Sunday night at church, one of the verses the pastor mentioned in one of his points was from Psalms where David says, “I will…” It struck me that that is a resolution of sorts, a determination, a plan to do something. So I looked for the term “I will” in BibleGateway.com. There are many places where God says, “I will…” do a particular thing — that would make an interesting study in itself. But I bypassed those and the “I wills” of people making a particular promise or determination for a specific time or purpose (i.e., Jacob saying “I will work seven years for Rachel”) and just looked for those passages that could be said by any believer in any time period. Here’s what I found (I only got from Genesis through Psalms — there are hundreds more verses after that! But this should keep me busy for a while):

The LORD is my strength and song, and he is become my salvation: he is my God, and I will prepare him an habitation; my father’s God, and I will exalt him. Exodus 15:2.

Because I will publish the name of the LORD: ascribe ye greatness unto our God. He is the Rock, his work is perfect: for all his ways are judgment: a God of truth and without iniquity, just and right is he. Deuteronomy 32:3-4.

Hear, O ye kings; give ear, O ye princes; I, even I, will sing unto the LORD; I will sing praise to the LORD God of Israel. Judges 5:3. (See also Psalm 7:17;9:1-2; 52:9; 56:12; 57:7, 9; 59:16; 69:30; 71:22; 75:9; 89:1; 101:1; 104:33-34; 108:1-3; 138:1; 144:9; 145:2; 146:2.)

And he said, The LORD is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; The God of my rock; in him will I trust: he is my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my high tower, and my refuge, my saviour; thou savest me from violence. I will call on the LORD, who is worthy to be praised: so shall I be saved from mine enemies. II Samuel 22:2-4. (See also Psalm 18:2-3; 44:5-7;55:16-17;57:2; 86:7).

Therefore I will give thanks unto thee, O LORD, among the heathen, and I will sing praises unto thy name. II Samuel 22:50. (See also Psalm 30:12.)

What time I am afraid, I will trust in thee. In God I will praise his word, in God I have put my trust; I will not fear what flesh can do unto me. Psalm 56:3-4. (See also Psalm 3:5-6; 4:8; 23:4; 55:23; 56:11; 118:6.)

But as for me, I will come into thy house in the multitude of thy mercy: and in thy fear will I worship toward thy holy temple. Psalm 5:7. (See also Psalm 138:2.)

That I may shew forth all thy praise in the gates of the daughter of Zion: I will rejoice in thy salvation. Psalm 9:14. (See also Psalm 13:5-6:27:6.)

I will bless the LORD, who hath given me counsel: my reins also instruct me in the night seasons. I have set the LORD always before me: because he is at my right hand, I shall not be moved. Psalm 16:7-8. (See also Psalm 34:1-3.)

I will love thee, O LORD, my strength. Psalm 18:1.

I will declare thy name unto my brethren: in the midst of the congregation will I praise thee. Psalm 22:22. (See also Psalm 22:25; 35:18; 66:13, 15; 116:14-18.)

I will extol thee, O LORD; for thou hast lifted me up, and hast not made my foes to rejoice over me. Psalm 30:1.

I will be glad and rejoice in thy mercy: for thou hast considered my trouble; thou hast known my soul in adversities. Psalm 31:7.

I acknowledge my sin unto thee, and mine iniquity have I not hid. I said, I will confess my transgressions unto the LORD; and thou forgavest the iniquity of my sin. Selah. Psalm 32:5.(See also Psalm 38:18.)

Come, ye children, hearken unto me: I will teach you the fear of the LORD. Psalm 34:11.

I said, I will take heed to my ways, that I sin not with my tongue: I will keep my mouth with a bridle, while the wicked is before me. Psalm 39:1.

I will make thy name to be remembered in all generations: therefore shall the people praise thee for ever and ever. Psalm 45:17.

My mouth shall speak of wisdom; and the meditation of my heart shall be of understanding. I will incline mine ear to a parable: I will open my dark saying upon the harp. Psalm 49:3-4. (See also Psalm 78:2.)

I will freely sacrifice unto thee: I will praise thy name, O LORD; for it is good. Psalm 54:6.(See also Psalm 139:14.)

I will abide in thy tabernacle for ever: I will trust in the covert of thy wings. Selah. Psalm 61:4.

Because thy lovingkindness is better than life, my lips shall praise thee. Thus will I bless thee while I live: I will lift up my hands in thy name. My soul shall be satisfied as with marrow and fatness; and my mouth shall praise thee with joyful lips: When I remember thee upon my bed, and meditate on thee in the night watches. Because thou hast been my help, therefore in the shadow of thy wings will I rejoice. Psalm 63:3-7. (See also Psalm 119:48.)

But I will hope continually, and will yet praise thee more and more. My mouth shall shew forth thy righteousness and thy salvation all the day; for I know not the numbers thereof. Psalm 71:14-15.

I will go in the strength of the Lord GOD: I will make mention of thy righteousness, even of thine only. Psalm 71:16.

And I said, This is my infirmity: but I will remember the years of the right hand of the most High. I will remember the works of the LORD: surely I will remember thy wonders of old. Psalm 77:10-11. (See also Psalm 119:93.)

I will meditate also of all thy work, and talk of thy doings. Psalm 77:12.

I will hear what God the LORD will speak: for he will speak peace unto his people, and to his saints: but let them not turn again to folly. Psalm 85:8.

Teach me thy way, O LORD; I will walk in thy truth: unite my heart to fear thy name. Psalm 86:11. (See also Psalm 26:11-12; 101:2; 114:45; 116:9.)

I will praise thee, O Lord my God, with all my heart: and I will glorify thy name for evermore. For great is thy mercy toward me: and thou hast delivered my soul from the lowest hell. Psalm 86:12-13. (See also Psalm 109:30; 111:1; 118:19, 21, 28; 119:7, 32-33.)

I will say of the LORD, He is my refuge and my fortress: my God; in him will I trust. Psalm 91:2.

For thou, LORD, hast made me glad through thy work: I will triumph in the works of thy hands. Psalm 92:4.

I will set no wicked thing before mine eyes: I hate the work of them that turn aside; it shall not cleave to me. A froward heart shall depart from me: I will not know a wicked person. Psalm 101:3-4.

I will take the cup of salvation, and call upon the name of the LORD. Psalm 116:13.

Open to me the gates of righteousness: I will go into them, and I will praise the LORD. Psalm 118:19.

I will keep thy statutes: O forsake me not utterly. Psalm 119:8, 69. (See also Psalm 119:106, 115, 145.)

I will meditate in thy precepts, and have respect unto thy ways. I will delight myself in thy statutes: I will not forget thy word. Psalm 119:15-16, 48, 78.

I will speak of thy testimonies also before kings, and will not be ashamed. And I will delight myself in thy commandments, which I have loved. Psalm 119:46-47. (See also Psalm 145:5-6.)

At midnight I will rise to give thanks unto thee because of thy righteous judgments. Psalm 119:62.

The wicked have waited for me to destroy me: but I will consider thy testimonies. Psalm 119: 96.

Hold thou me up, and I shall be safe: and I will have respect unto thy statutes continually Psalm 119:117.

Pray for the peace of Jerusalem: they shall prosper that love thee. Peace be within thy walls, and prosperity within thy palaces. For my brethren and companions’ sakes, I will now say, Peace be within thee. Because of the house of the LORD our God I will seek thy good. Psalm 122:6-9.

14 thoughts on “Biblical resolutions

  1. Hey I am the first to comment in the New Year! What an extensive list of scripture you have here. These are all good, and I’m like you, I don’t make a lot of resolutions because they are basically not new things. Still, that doesn’t give us reason not to forge ahead faithfull, does it? Thanks for the sharing.

  2. Wow! What a great study – it could take all year! LOL I don’t make resolutions as such; I make goals for certain things, such as reading my Bible in one year (at which I failed miserably in 2007!). I believe it’s good for us to re-evaluate at times the way our lives are heading, and make corrections where we need to. Of course, you don’t have to, nor should you, wait till January 1st if the Lord points something out to you. Anyway, I love new beginnings, and the New Year is one of my prime times to evaluate which way I’m headed, and make some “I wills” of my own!

    Happy New Year! You’re a blessing to me!

  3. I enjoyed reading all these verses containing I Will. I like the one that says This is the day that the Lord has made. I will rejoice and be glad in it. A reminder not to find to much fault with our day. Happy new year to you.

  4. This is really good, Barbara! You’ve just given me an idea. Since one of my resolutions for 2008 is to read the Bible from cover to cover again, I’ll underline every verse with “I will…” in it. My Bible’s full of marks and highlights and notes. I think such underlines will help me more in my studies of the Word. Thanks!

    Blessed New Year to you and your lovely family!

  5. Pingback: Retrospectives « Stray Thoughts

  6. Pingback: Biblical Resolutions

  7. Pingback: Happy New Year! « Stray Thoughts

  8. Pingback: Thinking about resolutions and words for the year… « Stray Thoughts

  9. Pingback: Thoughts for the New Year « Stray Thoughts

  10. Pingback: Every Resolve for Good | Stray Thoughts

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.