Saturday Photo Scavenger Hunt: Hot

photohunters2mo1.gif

Theme: Hot | Become a Photo Hunter | View Blogroll

When my older kids were little, the house we lived in was heated by these monstrous gas heaters.

image0.jpg

image0-1.jpg

So in our children’s crawling, toddling years, we were often saying, “Hot! Hot! No! No! Don’t touch!”

Somehow they survived — as did my brother and sisters and I — without getting burned. I do believe it is good for children to be taught that there are some things they cannot touch, but I am glad these things with their more serious consequences are no longer a part of our lives.

Besides, they’re also not exactly attractive focal points for one’s decor, either. ๐Ÿ™‚

For more variations on today’s theme of “Hot,” see TNchick’s (our photo hunt hostess) entry for today and the accompanying participants’ links here.

21 thoughts on “Saturday Photo Scavenger Hunt: Hot

  1. Good choice for the theme. I agree that children have to learn about danger and not touching hot things but I’d also be glad not to have to deal with those heaters. I lived in a house with two of those before I was married and had a child and I was glad I didn’t have that kind of heat after I had a child.

  2. Yep, we had two of these babies too. I was always concerned with our kids stumbling too close and with our cat (Persian it was at the time, more was the worry)…

    But they sure may it hot in a jiffy!

  3. Wow, those are really big. We don’t need heaters here in the Philippine but some houses up north built high up the mountains, houses have fireplaces. Good that nobody got too near those things.

    have a great weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. The phots bring back memories for me. We had central heating at home when a kid (I am one of the few people not to have it now though!). Mum and dad also had this old electric fire which little hands could access. Being one for hands on scientific study at a youn age, I had to see what it felt like to touchin a bar when the fire was switched off and then when it switched on!

    Let’s just say my scientific curiosity was satisfied very quickly! Have a great weekend

  5. we have a gas heater that looks kinda like the one in your first photo (although its a bit hard to see)
    last winter we put in the kitchen we have an open plan kinda house
    we had a barrier up to stop My Little Man getting too close

  6. We don’t have those kind of heaters here but I agree that it’s good to teach children while they are young about the dos and don’ts at home. I always tell my 4-yr old son that the kitchen is off limits because I don’t want him to accidentally touch anything hot after someone has just finished cooking.

    Nice photos! Thanks for sharing.

  7. What cute nostalgic pictures. But you’re right on both counts about those heaters. They were scary things. I remember the old steam heater grates in one house we lived in when I was very little. And I remember “Don’t touch, hot” being said!

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.