Saturday Photo Scavenger Hunt: Music

(Show and Tell folks, that post is below this one)


photohunters2mo1.gif

Theme: Music | Become a Photo Hunter | View Blogroll

We have photos of the boys at the piano for their recitals going back fifteen years to when Jeremy started when he was in third grade. Though it might be interesting to post a picture of each of them when they started and then at their senior recitals (for the older two) and last year for Jesse — it would probably look a little redundant and not be of interest to anyone but me. So I decided to use a different pictures. Jason, my middle son, is the only one who was interested in other musical instruments. He taught himself to play the penny whistle and ocarina and a little of the guitar. I do have a picture of him playing the ocarina, but it just looks like he has his mouth on a rock, so I won’t use that one. πŸ™‚

This is a picture of only one of two times he payed the penny whistle in public.

Jason playing penny whistle

The penny whistle is used in a lot of Irish music, which we love, and they are playing an Irish hymn, Be Thou My Vision. The other couple was at our church for a missions conference and are now missionaries in Ireland. We knew the family of the young man when he was a little boy and we all went to the same church in another town, so that was a neat experience all the way around.

He also played at a senior concert, but that’s it. I had hoped he would go on and use these talents for the Lord, and he may yet some day. But for now he doesn’t like to “perform” in front of people. He just enjoys playing at home in his room, and we enjoy the sounds filtering through the walls. πŸ™‚

38 thoughts on “Saturday Photo Scavenger Hunt: Music

  1. What blessings your children must be! Thanks for sharing their musical journeys and the interesting instruments the one son plays. I love it when I elarn something new.

    Come and see mine.

  2. Be Thou My Vision is one of my favorite hymns…..how wonderful your sons are so musical….Music is so much a bit part of life. I’ve played the piano for about 58 years…..

    Please come back for a visit…Thanks for the comment…Betty

  3. i love Irish music as well. πŸ™‚

    oh, you have musically talented children! i find it a great experience for children who learn on their own.

    happy weekend! πŸ™‚

  4. That’s a beautiful photo, and very appropriate for the theme! I can imagine that you love listening to him playing behind closed doors. I adore my son’s guitar play and always stop in my tracks when I hear him practise… though it’s heavy metal!! πŸ˜€

  5. Music is a wonderful hobby, your son seems highly talented. We got an ocarina once and it’s decorating a wall, I had forgotten all about it!
    How nice that you have your turntable still! We enjoy listening to those vinyls and hearing every dust particle!

  6. Handsome boy, neat skill. My child doesn’t like to “perform,” either. What is the good of the gift if you hide it away? maybe they just don’t want to be tempted to receive too much glory, or just dont like attention upon themselves. Anyway, I can relate.

  7. Great choice for this week’s theme Barbara. What an interesting choice of instruments to play. I have never heard of the ocarina, or at least never knew that that’s what they are called… thanks, I learned something new today. I can relate with Jason, I only like to play my guitar in private. I hope it still pleases the Lord when music is played for Him even when nobody else hears. Happy Hunting and Happy weekend!

  8. Oh, I think it does please Him, Angelo. I don’t know how to play any instrument and would so love to be able to express myself in that way — but I don’t have the time for any kind of lessons right now. I do sing around the house but freeze at the thought of singing in public.

  9. When my Andrew went to college (he is a pianist), what I missed the most was his practicing. Quiet was the saddest sound of all after all of the sonatas, ballades, etc. I am glad you can still hear yours.

  10. It must be a blessing to have two musically inclined sons. I’m sure they create beautiful music. I’m sure you are proud of both of them.

    Thanks for sharing this photo of your son during his performance.

    Thanks for visiting.

  11. I LOVE Be THou My Vision, and Irish music! What a good-looking boy your son is and how talented. We have a man in church in who plays whistles and pipes of all sorts and make his own digeridoos.

    Great photo.

  12. This is just lovely.

    BTW–I have finally added you to my Google reader and am reading each day but am so incredibly busy that I never get around to commenting, especially since what you have to say is usually thought provoking and needs a deeper reply than “pretty” or “nice”. Just wanted you to know.

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.