Works-For-Me Wednesday: Overactive automatic toilets

wfmwheader_4.jpgYou know how some public restrooms have toilets that automatically flush themselves. Some of them don’t work very well, but some of them flush at the smallest provocation — some have flushed even when I first opened the door of the stall to come in. And they’re usually pretty…vigorous in their flushing. I’m a bit germophobic and really don’t want to be splashed from a public toilet. So one day it occurred to me that if I could cover up the sensor that triggers the flushing, I wouldn’t have to worry about it. I took a couple of squares of toilet paper and draped it over the sensor, and voila — no flushing until I was ready. And that works for me. 🙂

To read other tips that work for others or to share your own, go to Rocks In My Dryer.

15 thoughts on “Works-For-Me Wednesday: Overactive automatic toilets

  1. Great idea. Some people actually carry post-it notes in their purses for their toddlers to use for just such occasions. I don’t ever remember any…this will be a great fix!

    Thanks!

  2. Very handy. My children are petrified that they’re going to be sucked down when it flushes when they’re still sitting on it. I will implement this next time we use one.

  3. Oh thank you!

    Have you ever been sitting on the toilet when it just decides to spontaneously flush and your bottom gets splashed with toilet water? Oh the disgustingness!

    My 4 year old is afraid of auto flush toilets too!

    This is a very, very useful tip!

  4. Thank you, thank you, thank you!! I absolutely hate those things that flush at the slightest movement. I’m like ready to jump off at any moment. I shall try this next time. Thank you!

  5. lol…that cracks me UP. My son is terrified to this day as he once fell into an auto-flush toilet when it was in the flushing mode…not a good thing. I’ll remember this one!

  6. Oh my word, Barbara! I am dying laughing here! I hate those automatic flushers, too!! Although it does mean you don’t have to touch the germ-laden handle to flush it, hm? One time I was sitting on one and it flushed so hard and fiercely that I was sure it was going to suck me in and send me on my way to China!!! LOL Thanks for the tip of covering up that little “seeing eye”! *smile*

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.