Works For Me Wednesday: Chicken Tenderloins

I love using boneless, skinless chicken tenderloin. They can go straight from the freezer to the oven and bake for only 20-30 minutes. I make baked chicken that way, or a chicken and stuffing casserole. On Sunday mornings sometimes I’ll put the frozen chicken tenderloin in a single layer in a baking pan and pour Italian dressing over it, let it marinate until we get home from church, then pop it in the oven while I make a side dish.

I sometimes will put a plate of them in the microwave for 9-10 minutes, rearranging them about halfway through (bringing the ones on the outside of the plate toward the center and vice verse). If you sprinkle them with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and minced onion, then cut them up into small pieces when done, you have chicken ready for a casserole or soup. If you do the same with the addition of chili powder, you have chicken ready for chicken tacos or enchiladas.

The only trouble is they are more expensive than other forms of chicken, so this is a time- and labor-saving tip rather than a frugal tip. You’re paying for the convenience of a shorter cooking time and being able to cook them immediately without deboning or skinning them. In our area they are sold in 2 1/2 lb. bags for $8.98, but they do go on sale fairly often, and sometimes stores will have a buy-one-get-one-free sale. Tyson makes them, but many stores have their own brand.

Here’s one of my family’s favorite recipes using them (you could also use leftover baked or stewed chicken):

Chicken Enchilada Bake

2 cans cream of chicken soup
2-4 chicken breasts, cooked and cut into pieces, or around 9 chicken tenderloin pieces, cooked and cut into small pieces
1 cup sour cream (or plain Greek yogurt)
3/4 lb. Monterrey Jack Cheese, shredded
6 flour tortillas or 8 corn tortillas
1 small can green chilies, diced (optional)

Mix soup, sour cream, chicken, chilies, and half the cheese, Tear tortillas into bite-size pieces and stir into chicken mixture. Pour into casserole dish and top with remaining cheese. Bake at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes. Or, leave off the remaining cheese, microwave for about 3 minutes, stir, top with remaining cheese, and microwave for another 3 minutes.

“Works For Me Wednesday”

Check out Rocks In My Dryer’s blog for great tips!

26 thoughts on “Works For Me Wednesday: Chicken Tenderloins

  1. I would be lost without my big bag o’ chicken…and my family would go hungry too! I just printed out your recipe and will be adding it to our rotation…it sounds yummy!

  2. Great tip! I use them too, if you have an Aldi’s around you they have them in the bag there. I can’t remember how much they are exactly, but I think that they are pretty close to the same price as the regular chicken breasts.

  3. Sure they aren’t frugal. But you know what? Our time is worth something, too. I have come to the conclusion I’d rather pay extra per pound for chicken where I’m using 99.9% than to have to work on making the cheap stuff edible. I hate bloody, yukky, fatty chicken. I found that by the time I cut off and threw away everthing that was gross…I wasn’t saving all that much money. So go for the better stuff. I, for one, think it’s worth it.
    Oh, and my family loves enchiladas…so I’m definitely going to try your recipe!

  4. Pingback: Works-For-Me Wednesday: More chicken tenderloin recipes « Stray Thoughts

  5. Pingback: Friday’s Feast is back! « Stray Thoughts

  6. Pingback: If I am like this now…. « Stray Thoughts

  7. Pingback: My favorite things « Stray Thoughts

  8. Pingback: Works-For-Me Wednesday: What Do I Fix? « Stray Thoughts

  9. Pingback: BlogHop ‘08 « Stray Thoughts

  10. Pingback: A Kitchen Meme « Stray Thoughts

  11. Pingback: Friday’s Fave Five « Stray Thoughts

I love hearing from you. Leave comments here, and they will appear after I see and approve them. If you have trouble commenting, please let me know at my email address in the sidebar.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.