Friday’s Fave Five

fall FFF 1It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

It’s been overcast and cool this week, and maybe that’s contributed to it also being a drowsy week for me. But here are some of the best parts of my waking moments. 🙂

1. Fall color in the neighborhood. I’d mentioned a few times that I had seen some fall color in other areas of town, but not in my immediate vicinity. It finally came last week! One day while out running errands, I stopped here and there to take some pictures of it, but none really captured it (it happened to be on one of those overcast days). But there are some lovely photos posted at the local TV station’s “Your Photos” section.

2. Time with Timothy. We baby-sat (or had a play-date, as his parents called it) last Saturday while his parents had some time to themselves. I’m always just a little apprehensive about watching him beforehand, in case he misses his parents too much or just doesn’t have a good day for some reason, but so far it has always gone well.

3. A UT Vols win! I rarely watched football before we moved here, but it’s hard to escape UT fandom when you live right in the middle of it. 🙂 They had been having a rough time of it lately, and finally pulled out a win last Saturday night.

4. Getting an extra hour last weekend. I don’t like giving it back in the spring, and I am not fond of it getting so dark so early after the time change, but I do like having that extra hour.

5. Going through craft books. I hadn’t planned on any deep searching and sorting for the items I was planning to donate that I mentioned last week – it was more just a matter of pulling together items I had set aside or noticed and itemizing them. But I didn’t have them ready to go last weekend, and once I did, I decided to look through a few more places. One was the bookshelf in my craft/sewing room. I spent a very pleasant afternoon looking through craft books, and yes, I did set aside some to give away! That also got my creative juices stirred up!

Happy Friday!

Save

9 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Oh how fun to have a playdate with your grandson and how appreciative his parents must be to have some needed time alone. When my girls were under age 12, I had to hire Christian teen babysitters as both sets of grandparents are just too far away. You are blessed!

    I love all the colors of autumn and now it is really feeling like late autumn!! we had our first frost here yesterday morning!!!

    I love going through old books. Mine are hiking books!! I am not ready to give any away yet though😜

    have a wonderful long weekend!!

  2. Isn’t it fun to “shop” our own stash? Love it that you got some inspiration in the midst of sorting. Glad to hear your play-dates with Timothy continue to go well. He spends so much time with you that he must be comfortable — and confident his parents will return.

  3. YAY for play-dates with Timothy! I am sure he enjoyed being with you and your husband as you did having him there. Our autumn colors haven’t been great this year, but the ones that have managed to keep their leaves on despite the rains and wind we’ve been having are outstanding! I plan to go out in a bit and snap a few pictures. The temperature here today is CHILLY, but the sun is shining brightly. 🙂

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  4. Play dates are the best with those sweet grandkids. I’m glad you got some one-on-one time with Tiimothy. I, too, love that extra hour in the fall, but I’m not sure it’s worth giving up an hour in the spring to get it:/ So fun to find ‘new’ treasures in the old craft stuff!

    Enjoy your weekend, Barbara:)

  5. Glad you have your playdate with Timothy.I had the same with my twin grandchildren today.A sweet time!

    Our fall colours are all but gone – only the gold of the oaks and larches are left. But it’s still pretty!

    Hope you enjoy your weekend Barbara!

  6. Our fall colors have definitely vanished under the snow. Winter came a touch early this year but I think after the super dry summer, I will not complain as the snow will help get moisture back. The time changes are getting harder for me to get used to. The extra hour on the night of change was great but it’s the rest of the week as my internal time clock adjusts that just about did me in this week. Yay for Timothy time

  7. You had a fun week: fall colors, crafting ideas, play date with Timothy. I’d call that a win-win week!
    I’m not a fan of the time changes going either direction. And I know parents of small children aren’t either!
    Have a great weekend!

  8. I go along with Toby very well, better then when his parents are here, lol ! We have a lot of fun together and his mother finds us childish, he is 7 please !!! It’s such a nice age now.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

