Friday’s Fave Five

fall FFF 1It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

November! “Ready or not,” the days and months keep coming! Here are my favorite parts of the last week:

1. An outing. Last Saturday, Jim, Jason, Mittu, Timothy, and I went to Vintage Market Days. It was fun to see all the “stuff” and to get some ideas for creative furniture painting if I ever get brave enough to try them. Jason and Mittu have done just a bit of buying, fixing up and painting, and then reselling furniture, so there was much to observe and take in. Timothy was good as gold.

2. A new Mexican food restaurant. I grew up in southern TX, where Mexican or “Tex-Mex” food is just a given, and I am not a happy camper without Mexican food occasionally. The two restaurants we had gone to since moving here closed (one even had the audacity to email me a coupon this week after closing their nearby location!!) After our outing on Saturday, we were headed for a burger place when we noticed a new Mexican food restaurant and decided to give it a try. We found out it was only their second day in business, and it was really good! Yay!

3. Jim going to the store for me. I had missed my planned grocery shopping Friday due to not feeling well and was planning to go out Saturday afternoon after our outing. Jim volunteered to go for me – and it was a rainy, drizzly day, so I took him up on it. I hate to ask him to go because he works long hours and has his mom’s care on top of that, so I greatly appreciated his volunteering.

4. Pumpkin Spice Cookies, just from a mix found at the store, but very good!

5. Running into an old friend even just for the briefest of moments. We used to go to the same church until her family moved to another area of town and changed to a church closer by. We keep up on Facebook but hadn’t seen each other in person for years. She was coming into the Vintage Market Days as we were going out, we were in the doorway in the rain, she had her hands full and people waiting on her, so we could manage a only brief few words and hug, but it did my heart good.

Happy Friday!

Save

7 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Vintage Market sounds like fun…and then to run into a friend beside must have made it even more special. What a good boy Timothy is! We enjoy Mexican food also..especially when it is a true Mexican restaurant. There are three in the Morgantown area and they have such good food. Sounds as if you had a good week with the exception of not feeling well on Friday.

  2. I love those vintage markets! So many ideas, it makes my head spin, but so much fun. And Mexican food is another favorite that we share:)

    It’s such a treat when I can get someone else to go to the grocery store. It doesn’t happen very often, but I always appreciate the gesture.

    This will be a good weekend for baking. Pumpkin spice cookies sound yummy.

    Have a nice weekend, Barbara.

  3. We like Mexican occasionally. 🙂 More and more Mexican restaurants are popping up around here, and it appears that most of them are doing a thriving business!!
    We do love vintage things. That market sounds like a lot of fun!

  4. the vintage market sounds fun!

    yay fr husband going out in the rain for food shopping!! He is a keeper!

    I hope,yumare feeling better!

    have a relaxing weekend!

  5. it’s great to reconnect even for a moment with old friends!
    Your excursion sounds like a fun day–I’m sure there were great pieces of furniture to see.
    Mexican food! If you’re from the West/southwest or Texas, you have to have your burritos and tacos!!

  6. It’s always so nice to run into an old friend one hasn’t seen for awhile. Facebook is just not the same. Sounds like a fun day at the market! I do need my Mexican fix on a regular basis too. Glad you found a new one with yummy food.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

