Balance

(Photo courtesy of https://morguefile.com/)

22 years ago a virus attacked my spine, and my body, in an auto-immune response, attacked the myelin sheath around the nerves as well as the virus. This is called transverse myelitis, which I wrote about more extensively here. The main symptom, from a whole laundry list of them, was that I couldn’t walk on my own. With physical therapy and a lot of prayer, I progressed from a wheelchair to a walker to a cane to wobbly and then more firmly walking on my own.

Among the symptoms still remaining are lack of full feeling in my left hand and lower legs, weird nerve signals, and balance problems that are worse when I am standing still. One of the early exercises my physical therapist had me do was to stand on a pillow, close my eyes, and lean as far as I could in different directions. We did this in front of my bed so that I’d have a safe place if I fell backwards, and she promised to catch me if I fell forward. But she was a tiny little thing and I was afraid of crushing her! Thankfully that never happened.

Though the balance issues are much better than they were 20-22 years ago, they are still a problem. I’m not sure what makes them worse some days than others. But the one thing that helps most is touching something stationary, if I am standing, or firm if I am walking. Just touching something firm keeps me steady. Sometimes that means taking someone’s arm, or leaning against a wall or chair. When I was in choir, it used to be that the back of my calves touching the chair behind me was sufficient, but I had to quit when that no longer was enough to keep me steady. Even while standing and singing in the congregation, I’m usually touching or leaning against the pew in front of me. If my eyes are closed in the shower, I often have to touch the wall or the caddy holding the soap and shampoo. Stairs are almost an impossibility if they don’t have a handrail. Uneven or rocky ground requires an assistant.

Feeling unbalanced is disorienting, even scary sometimes, occasionally paralyzing. Balance is an essential part of walking. It’s hard to move forward if you’re constantly fearing a fall, but even aside from fear, without stability your mind and body can’t process moving forward.

~~~

It’s easy to feel disoriented, unstable, and even fearful in this world today. So many problems, so many issues, so many arguments without simple resolutions. The hymn echoes what Paul said, “fightings and fears within, without.”

Where can we find balance, safety, and stability? Where is something firm to lean on to hold us steady and help us move forward?

 Uphold me according unto thy word, that I may live: and let me not be ashamed of my hope. Hold thou me up, and I shall be safe: and I will have respect unto thy statutes continually. Psalm 119:116-117.

For you have delivered my soul from death, yes, my feet from falling, that I may walk before God in the light of life.  Psalm 56:13, ESV.

For thou hast delivered my soul from death, mine eyes from tears, and my feet from falling. I will walk before the Lord in the land of the living. Psalm 116:8-9.

But as for me, my feet were almost gone; my steps had well nigh slipped…Until I went into the sanctuary of God

Nevertheless I am continually with thee: thou hast holden me by my right hand. Thou shalt guide me with thy counsel, and afterward receive me to glory. Whom have I in heaven but thee? and there is none upon earth that I desire beside thee. My flesh and my heart faileth: but God is the strength of my heart, and my portion for ever. Psalm 73:2, 17a, 23-26.

“Believe God’s love and power more than you believe your own feelings and experiences. Your rock is Christ, and it is not the rock that ebbs and flows but the sea.” ~  Samuel Rutherford

(Sharing with Inspire Me Mondays, Literary Musing Monday, Glimpses, Soul Survival, Tell His Story, Wise Woman, Faith on Fire)

Save

Save

10 thoughts on “Balance

  1. Thank you for sharing your journey. We can always find our balance, safety, and stability in God’s words. Prayers for your health!

  2. Dear Barbara … thank you for sharing a bit of your story … and allowing God to use it to bring spiritual truths to your readers. He’s the only One who can give us the balanced we need … in all the ways that matter most.

    Blessings to you as we launch into a fresh week …

  3. Barbara, so nice to meet you. My given name is Barbara! Thank you for sharing a bit of your story. I will have to come back to read more. I am thankful that God keep me in balance, even on the craziest of days.

  4. Viruses are such nasty and unpredictable things! A little over a decade ago, I had what my dr. and all my reading looked like the beginnings of rheumatoid arthritis. The symptoms went on for about 4 weeks, and then gradually went away, never to return. He said that some viruses can mimic health conditions, like these. I’ve often thought what a strange thing it is that these tiny organisms can wreak so much havoc, and I’m so sorry that yours has become a life-long companion. That said — what a wonderful parallel you’ve drawn between the balance issues you encounter physically, and the ways we lean on God for balance. I’ll be thinking more about this today …

  5. What a challenge you have to deal with day after day. You share a powerful truth in your story. I’m humming “Leaning on Jesus, leaning on Jesus, safe and secure from all alarms…”

  6. Praying for your continued recovery. I am so impressed that you used this to teach an insightful lesson on finding balance in our lives through Christ. Thanks for sharing on the #LMMLinkup this week.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

