Friday’s Fave Five

FFF delicate leavesIt’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

And just like that we’re a week into October already! Our cool mornings are back but it’s still a little in the afternoons. A few more leaves have changed, but we still haven’t seen the blaze of color that’s coming. In the meantime, here are some high points of the last week:

1. Being prayed for. The chaplain from hospice that comes out to see my mother-in-law brought a “chaplain in training” this week. As they were winding down their visit, I almost asked the chaplain to pray for a specific concern of my own. But I didn’t – whether because it was a little harder to get a word in with two of them here, or perhaps I just didn’t feel as comfortable sharing with a new person there, I don’t know. But when she asked him to close in prayer, she said, “And pray for Barbara as well” – I can’t remember if she mentioned health issues in particular. I think she did mention health, because I was touched at the Lord’s working in that way and leading someone to pray for me in a specific way even without my asking.  Then I struggled over whether to share a prayer request on Facebook, but was blessed that so many people responded.

2. Safety. My husband was cutting up parts of some fallen tree branches at my son and daughter-in-law’s when the chainsaw slipped, and…

Thankfully the saw didn’t reach his toes!

3. Puttering is what I call getting some little jobs done that tend to pile up when life is busy – cleaning out some files, cleaning out my receipt drawer (where I stash receipts when I am wrapping presents), tidying my desk, straightening here and there, changing over from an old purse to a new one, etc.. Always a nice feeling to get that kind of thing done.

4. Getting my fall decorations out. Now it feels more officially like fall.

img_1890

img_1887

img_1891

The last photo is from a couple of years ago – because my kitchen window currently has some gunk on it from some suction cups.:)  I wasn’t able to get it off with just washing the window so will need to go do some more intense scrubbing. Anyway – our tree is not to that stage of color yet, but should be in the next couple of weeks!

5. No major afib in a week! Even being off one medication! Praying that continues! I mentioned yesterday that I’d several occurrences in one week, and they wanted to put me on a new medicine, but first I’d have to get one of the old ones out of my system over five days. I was afraid this would be a really bad week in that regard, but so far it has been a great one!

Happy Friday!

Save

Save

7 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Your FFFs always bring a smile to my face. You are always so cheerful and I also love yourmcommemts on my own FFFs.

    Praise God that chainsaw didn’t hurt your husband!

    I do not know what your prayer request is regarding yourmhealth but God does so if it is ok with you, i can have my small group lift you up in prayer!! and I have added you to my list. 💕

    enjoy the weekend!

    oh!! i also love your autunn decor!

  2. Happy to hear you haven’t had major episodes off your medication. Yikes scary chainsaw moment. PTL the shoe got the worst of it! Hope you have a good weekend.

  3. I’m glad things seem to be going well with your health and the switch to new medication. Your hubby was lucky that chainsaw didn’t do more damage! Scary. I enjoy puttering too.

  4. God is so good to put the notion of prayer into our minds. So glad you were prayed over even without you asking for it. I will add my prayers to the mix, too. And HOW awesome that you had no heart events this week. That is a huge blessing.
    It always feels so good to get those small chores done. I need to do some puttering of my own. I was going to do so today, and I still have some time to do so. Thanks for the reminder.
    Have a good week.
    BTW – I just finished Threads of Suspicion (which is why I haven’t puttered today, I was busy reading). It was a great diversion and so intriguing. The next book cannot come SOON enough. I need relationship answers now.

  5. I hope you are continuing to have good results with the meds.
    Having been gone for so much of the past month, I am drawn to your ‘puttering’–I know I need to putter for a couple of days.
    My neighbor has a chaplain visiting regularly and I know they appreciate the prayers and thoughtfulness the chaplain shares.
    Have a great week!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

